Summer Fun List 2012

Standard

Last year, the kids and I sat down and brainstormed a list of things we wanted to do with our summer vacation time. It was a huge success! We ended up checking off almost everything on the list and making some wonderful memories.

So, of course, we decided to do it again this year! Katie, Caleb, and I sat down at McDonalds and, over fries and bottomless root beers, came up with this, our 2012 Mega-Awesome Summer Fun List of Justice!

Skate Plaza

make a blanket fort

Lego madness

have a friend sleep over

Jamms frozen yogurt

play at the park

go to the movies (Brave, Madagascar 3)

library

Independence Point

ride bikes

make a present for Dad

visit Grandpa and Grandma Evans

make a cool video

bake cookies

geocaching

Julyamsh Powwow

Art on the Green

hike Tubbs Hill

water gun war

sew stuffed animals

paper airplane races

picnic

Bluegrass Park water spot

make-your-own-pizza day

go hiking with the Kleins

But that’s not all. This year, I wanted to take our list to the next level, so I told the kids we would also be doing some Random Acts of Kindness throughout the summer. I have a few possibilities, but I’ve been trying to narrow it down to things that the kids would enjoy doing. Things like creating drawings with encouraging messages on them and leaving them on people’s windshields at the mall, or passing out free candy bars to people waiting in line at the DMV. I’m open to suggestions, so if you have any service project or RAK ideas for kids, let me know in the comments!

8 responses »

  1. Ooh, can we move “hiking with the Kleins” to this year’s list? I remember wanting to last year, but whenever I thought about it, my morning sickness said, “YOU’LL PUKE!!!!!”

    It sounds like a fun way to spend a summer. You could always get some quarters and give them to little kids at those vending machine thingies with toys in them (do they still make those?) Or go carry peoples’ groceries for them at the supermarket. Or pick up trash at the beach. Or bring cups of cold water to people doing stuff in the hot sun. Popsicles at the beach would go over well πŸ™‚

    • Absolutely! We’d love to go hiking with you guys one of these Saturdays. We can find a trail that would be good for the kids, too–I’m thinking Round Lake or maybe the Settlers Grove of Ancient Cedars in Murray.

      Thanks for the RAK ideas! Those are great. I think the kids would love giving out popsicles at the beach! πŸ˜€

  2. sounds fabulous.
    your list always reminds me to make mine.
    hooray!
    i love the random acts of kindness idea…
    I saw on pinterest that there were rocks that were painted “you are enough”. hahhaahaaaaa….nevermind, I’m pretty sure i got that from you. hahahahaaaa
    anyway…i liked it.
    hahahahaaaa

    • I loved that idea, too, Ada! (I, of course, stole it from someone else.) Definitely want to do the rock painting–it can be a craft project and a RAK!

  3. Katrina! You live! Thanks for the comment on my recent 50 Shades blogpost.

    For RAK, how about a good old fashioned lemonade stand…that’s free! I’m not sure if you have a children’s hospital aka Shriner’s hospital in your area, but contacting them to see if they have anything the kids could do would be awesome. Our hospitals here will have volunteer groups come to do crafts or color with kids that are in the hospital and haven’t been able to be with other kids in a long, long time.

    • Lemonade stand! Great idea, Rose–thank you! I’m not sure if our small town hospital has any programs like you describe, but I’ll check. I think most long term cases are sent to Spokane. Have a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

