Crazy Cat Lady, Stage 1

Standard


At the end of July, we adopted a 4 month old kitten from an animal rescue.  In just two days, I became one of those women who post more Facebook pictures of her cat than her kids.

I can’t help it.  She’s so cute!

Her name is Pixel*, and she’s a Russian Blue mix, so she doesn’t irritate my allergies very much at all.  She has a sweet, playful personality, and better manners than any cat with whom we’ve ever shared a living space.

Unfortunately, she has summarily rejected thirty dollars worth of cat toys only to play with crumpled wrappers, shoe boxes, and milk carton lids. So I’ve been inventing cat toys made out of common household junk.  Her favorites so far are these cardboard rings I cut out of empty paper towel tubes.

 

I also ordered a bag of cat food from Petco.com, and yesterday it arrived in this big box packed with crinkly paper.  They couldn’t have designed a better cat toy if they tried. (Thank you, PetCo!)

They say that cats own us, not the other way around. That might account for us giving up a chunk of our bank account and a corner of our family room to erect a fleece-covered monstrosity called a Deluxe Cat Tree.  Pixel couldn’t even wait for Paul to finish putting it together before she started playing on it.

As soon as it was done, she got started torturing the poor canvas mouse dangling from one of the platforms.

This afternoon she figured out that the sisal rope posts are good for scratching, so that’s one more handy non-sofa surface upon which she can sharpen those ginsu knives at the end of her paws. (And there was much rejoicing!) Anyway, I’m sure the future will see me peppering the internet with more cat photos and stories and videos. If you don’t want to see them, just do what you do when you get an email full of your second cousin’s pictures of his Niagara Falls vacation. Click on through. I don’t mind.

But Pixel might.

*Rejected names: Monster, Cleopatra, Princess Zamboni Tunameister

12 responses »

  1. stage 1? after seeing that tower, i’m afraid you have clearly passed stage 1. ORDERED a bag of cat food from petco? you can WALK to petco from your house. stage 1? i think not.

    that being said, (and you knew it would be, didn’t you?) the video was cute. the first photo, would have been, had it not been for the teeth showing. like one of those creepy cat posters with a mouthful of human teeth. shudder.

  2. I never thought I was a cat person…until we got a cat to keep our mole/mouse population down. I really like our Luke and I seem to be his favorite family member, too. So glad you found Pixel. She seems perfect for your family.

    PS. I have to agree with Kathy. That cat castle puts you in at least stage 2.

  3. Had I known someone was looking for a cat, I would have gladly given one of mine. I used to be a cat person, but now, ten years later, I’m tired of them eating my houseplants, walking on the counters, shedding all over and now decidedly peeing on the basement floor just inches away from their litter box. Sigh.

    Oh, and I keep trying to convince my offspring that if you change the litter box, the cats will hate you forever and leave you alone (a selling point with a teenager) but so far, he’s not buying it. Guess it’s still my job.

    Pixel is a fantastic name and she’s adorable, but you’re way past Stage 1.

    Eliza

  4. Pingback: » How do i get my cat to use her cat tower? Cat Furniture

  5. Pingback: » Cat condos. Do cats really sleep in them? Cat Furniture

  6. Pingback: » Desired Cat Condos & Trees Cat Furniture

  7. Wow… I happened across this page.

    My cat was ALSO a Russian Blue named Pixel. She passed away a couple of years ago at 19. Also loved to chase after rings and bands and I have a picture of her on a bookcase… seems like she’s been reincarnated!

Leave a Reply

