Priorities

Standard

Today was the Ladies’ Thanksgiving Tea, an annual girls-only event hosted by my friend Marci at her home. Marci provides hot tea in a variety of beautiful teapots and teacups, while all the guests bring finger foods to share.

I made brownies this year, and the smell of baking chocolate filled our house this morning as I was getting ready. I was all dressed and about to walk out the door when Caleb threw himself at me, wrapping his arms around my waist and pleading, “Can I go with you, Mom?”

I took his face in my hands. “It’s only for girls, buddy. You don’t want to go to a girls tea party, do you?”

“Of course I do, Mom,” he returned reasonably. “There will be brownies there!”

Leave a Reply

