Blessed Sunday

Standard

I hope she doesn’t mind, but I’m borrowing the “Blessed Sunday” meme from my friend, Jen, who always writes her Sunday blog post about something she’s thankful for.  I love that.  I have an embarrassment of riches in my life, and I’m sure I could fill every Sunday from now till the Lord returns with no trouble whatsoever.

Today I’m thankful for Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus.  Not many people know this, but the jolly Kris Kringle and his rosy-cheeked wife go to church with us!

Santa & Mrs. Claus

Every December, they make the long trek up to the North Pole for their seasonal gig, but the rest of the year they live quietly and anonymously under the names “Ray” and “Karen”, doing good deeds and basically spreading joy and bonhomie wherever they go.

After church this morning, they donned their working clothes and showed up for an early Christmas photo shoot in the teen center.  Everyone was invited to share Christmas cookies and listen to  Christmas carols while they waited in line to get their photo taken with the Kringle family.

My kids loved it!  Katie danced around in time to the Christmas music, and Caleb waited patiently for his turn to talk to “the big guy”.  We got to watch as several of our other friends got their pictures made, and then it was our turn:

Picture with Santa

Can you believe how huge my babies are?  Katie’s on the cusp of her preteen years, and Caleb, who is in 2nd grade, seems to get taller every day.  Just for comparison’s sake, here are some Christmas pictures I took of them in 2006, when Katie was in 2nd grade and Caleb was only three:

Christmas 2006

Christmas 2006

Here’s the part where I usually get all maudlin about how quickly the years fly by.  Unfortunately, I don’t have time.  I have to go break up a fight over whose turn it is to use the computer.

Merry Christmas!

3 responses »

  1. just before i read your comment, i thought, “wow, caleb looks tall in that picture.” it must be his hair. he has some today. which probably means he won’t tomorrow. katie always looks tall, but she looked older, too.

    (you considered putting up your christmas lights today, didn’t you?)

Leave a Reply

