Reader Interrogation

Standard

Reader Interrogation

It’s time to unveil one of the many tricks I have up my sleeve for keeping things going around here during National Blog Posting Month.  It’s the one where I trick you, my readers, into writing the post for me–or at least into rounding it out with your personal observations and experiences in the comment section.

Here’s how it works.  I’ll post a question, and I’ll answer it first.  Then it’s your turn!

I don’t know if this will work or not.  Maybe no one will comment, in which case I’ll just stand here with a silly hat on my  head and a single balloon tied to my wrist, holding a soggy piece of cake in a napkin and crying like a nine year old girl who just realized that nobody’s coming to her birthday party.

No pressure, though.

Question: Let’s talk about tattoos.  Do you have any?  If so, what are they?  If not, would you ever get one? What’s the weirdest/worst one you’ve ever seen?  If you had to get a tattoo, what would it be?

Answer: I do have a tattoo.  It’s a small rose on my right hip.  I got it in a supreme act of rebellion and independence my freshman year of college.  Some friends and I went together to a man called The Wizard in Little Rock, Arkansas.  Considering the state of his establishment, it’s probably some kind of miracle that we didn’t contract hepatitis.   My little rose has fared pretty well over the past twenty years (I wisely put it on a part of my body that hasn’t been stretched or shrunk by childbirth or weight fluctuations), but it could probably use a touch-up.

I would get another tattoo, and, in fact, I have plans to do so soon.  My friend Alyson is getting one to celebrate the birth of their second child, Grace, and I’m going to go with her.  She already has one to mark the birth of their oldest daughter, Lily; it’s a lily on her ankle, which I think is awesome.  My new tattoo will be a green butterfly on the back of my left shoulder with the word “hope” underneath it in script.

The worst tattoo I have ever seen (that I can describe without embarrassment) is the one where that guy got his face tattooed to look like a skull.  *shudder* Let’s see…I’m sure google has a picture of it…  Ahh, here we are.

8 responses »

  1. Yes, I have a tattoo but we don’t talk about it in front of my dad. hee hee
    I have five butterflies on my lower back. I used to get a butterfly for all the big things in my life. Then I had Aidan and got too scared that I might get a disease and stopped. And then I had soooooo many big things happen in a short period…I’m due for like a million. A million. I would be covered in butterflies. I need to rethink this.

  2. No tattoos. Probably will never, but if I did it would be the Uffington Horse. Maybe on my shoulder.

    I’ve seen thousands of bad tattoos. 98% of the ones I see just don’t look very good. The worst are those lower back ones, or anything on the face. Ugh.

    The best tattoo I’ve ever seen was a series of three small cat paw prints on the neck of a woman who works at Cat Tales. For her profession and passion, it seemed perfect.

  3. KATRINA! That picture is DISTURBING! Wow…. soooo creepy.

    Ok. Worst tattoo ever was a pic my friend snapped of this guy in Barcelona. Apparently he’s famous-ish. (This isn’t her pic, but I found him on the web) Um,just be advised – he’s nekkid (but that’s a part of the tattoo): http://images.travelpod.com/users/hansanddoyle/europe-2007.1177099680.dsc00233.jpg

    Ok, horrifying.

    BEST tattoo, which I might consider one day, is a friend of mine who has a short passage from Song of Solomon tattooed in Hebrew around her ring finger on her left hand. It’s under her wedding ring, and is a symbol of their marriage. I really like that idea.

    Other than thinking that might be cool one day, I’ve never really thought of myself as a tattoo girl. (Partly cause I’m scared of the needles!)

  4. I have no tatoos…yet. I would actually like to get one. Actually four small ones representing each person in my family. I’d have to really think about what would represent each person. I like Angelina Jolies tattoos for her kids representing the geographic locations where each of her children were born. But that would be pretty boring for me considering all my children were born in the same exact room in the same exact hospital. The worst tattoos have to be ones on faces. And cartoon characters. People are so going to regret that huge Scooby Doo covering their whole arm someday.

  5. Ah, you know me, I love tattoos. I don’t like just any tattoo… I’m actually kinda picky.

    Anyway, I do have two tattoos (so far). Jim and I wanted to do the whole wedding ring tattoo, but I realized I didn’t want a black smudge to show under my wedding ring, so I relegated poor Jim to my toe. So my toe says “JIM”. I also have a lily flower on my left ankle for my daughter, Lily. And coming soon is the word “Grace” on my right foot for my daughter Grace. As well as a scripture reference to John 1:16.

    But I need to make plans and actually do it!! Let’s DO it!

  6. so, i have a question. is attending a tattoo application a bonding experience and only the tattooed need apply? no outside witnesses? because, if not, i would like to observe this ritual. as long as it is on a foot or shoulder or some other publicly-acceptable-for-viewing part of the body.

    • You’re definitely welcome to be there when I get mine! As long as you don’t take any pictures of the Pain Face. (Coincidentally, that’s the same rule I had when I was in labor with Katie…)

      I’ll let you know when it is!

Leave a Reply

