Our House Is a Very, Very, Very Fine House

Standard

We’ve been in our new home, our first house, for a little over a year now. But there is a difference between moving into a house and really making it feel like home. This week, I think we finally crossed over that line. I’d like to show you a couple of projects we just finished, projects that have added a little more family flair to the Tree House walls.

Back when I was a high school senior, I saw “A Room With a View” for the first time, and it instantly became one of my favorite movies (Best Onscreen Kiss of All Time!) In one scene, we see the inside of George’s house in Surrey, and there are words painted on the walls. How whimsical! How delightful! The seed of that idea always stuck with me, and when we finally had a house of our own and could do as we pleased, I decided I wanted to paint some quotes on my walls, too. Unfortunately, my skill with a paintbrush is decidedly un-Picasso-like. Instead, for Christmas, Paul gave me carte blanche to buy the slightly more polished version from Enchanted Quotes. In my characteristically decisive manner, it only took me five months to decide what quotes to order. Finally, they arrived, and I applied them right away, giggling gleefully.

In the living room:

In the master bedroom:

And in the family room (also known, coincidentally, as the “rumpus room”):

Another seed of an idea that had been germinating for some time involved creating a space where we could display the kids’ artwork. Every week, Katie and Caleb turn out works of high art with their clay, crayons, and glue. Nothing thrills them more than to have their creations put up on the refrigerator or passed around to an adoring audience. Several years ago, reading a parenting magazine in a doctor’s waiting room, I found an article that suggested creating an “art gallery” for displaying a rotating collection of children’s paintings. Since our kids also produce a fair number of sculptures and origami creations, we added some shelves (thoughtfully gifted by Aunt Amber and Uncle Daniel), and installed the whole fixture on one wall of the family room:

Isn’t it fun?

I’d love to hear what you’ve done to show your personality in your home. (But be warned: if I see an idea I like, I have no scruples whatsoever about stealing it for my own–obviously!)

12 responses »

  1. How delightful! I’ve been searching for some time for what to put above my bed. I’m going to have to check out enhanced quotes. Hmmm.

  2. I really like how it turned out! I think you made good choices, which means that maybe the 5 month thinking period was all worth it! πŸ™‚

  3. good thing you didn’t get the living room, bedroom and rumpus room quotes mixed up and put in the wrong rooms.

  4. One thing I’ve done in the boys’ bedroom and playroom that they love is put up some sticky hooks (since we’re trying to avoid nail holes in cement walls) and then I hang cool colored twine from the hooks. So there’s three hooks and twine strung b/w the three kinda in a “w” shape and then I buy cheap colored clothes pins and hang all their flat art work from the twine… they love seeing their stuff daily, showing it to visitors, and changing it out πŸ™‚ It was a great/cheap way to fill up some seriously big empty wall space.

  5. I love the idea of displaying the artwork. I have Chase’s earlier works displayed in small white frames and hung by cute ribbon in her bedroom. I’ll have to do something in the living room too. The quotes are awesome. I’ve wanted to put quotes up and even went as far as purchasing some. Sadly, they were too small for the space I was trying to fill and they were returned. Now I’m gun shy. LOL!

  6. I love the website with the quotes!! There’s a girl at school who put one on her classroom wall, but I never knew where she got it. I can see why it took awhile to decide–from the quote, to the font, there’s so much to LOOK at. Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

