TGIF

Standard

I love Friday nights.

Sometimes we go out, but mostly we don’t, and I’m not sure which one I like better.

On stay-in Friday nights, I give myself permission to ignore the laundry and the dishes.  I laugh with the kids and admire all their drawings and inventions.  I listen to Paul’s stories and giggle at his jokes.  I microwave dinner, or order it in, and everybody gets what they like the most, whether it’s corn dogs or taquitos.  I wrap up in a warm blanket and shamelessly revel in my utter lack of productivity as I read a book or watch TV or play World of Warcraft for three hours.  I stay up ridiculously late because I know the morning will find me deliciously hibernating under layers of down and cotton like a pampered bear.  It’s wonderful.

By the way, did I mention I’m wearing fleece pajamas?  Yummy.

Unfortunately, the picture is not quite complete tonight.  Paul is out of town for the weekend visiting friends, so the story-telling, canoodling, making out part of the night has been temporarily postponed.

On the other hand, Paul’s absence will allow me to spend some time finishing the gift I’m making for him for Christmas.  Now that we’re both working, it’s hard to find the time to sneak around making Christmas presents; hopefully I can get it all done on Saturday.  I wish I could tell you what it is, but it’s top secret.  I’ll be sure to post pictures of the finished product after the gift-giving, though, if only to see if you can tell what it is.  It looks great in my head, but sometimes things get lost in translation.

And no, it’s not a laptop privacy sweater:

laptop privacy sweater

I know you’re disappointed.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha! That sweater is fabulous. Great post about Friday nights. I am looking forward to those days when Anna is old enough (and smart enough) to actually sleep in. Both of my kids still get up at 7 on a nearly daily basis, regardless of our plans for the day. *sigh* And yet, here I am on a Friday night…staying up ridiculously late. 🙂

Leave a Reply

