Self-Congratulatory

Standard

All summer I’ve been putting it off.  I’ve blithely skipped along, enjoying my days of fun and frolic, while the piled-up piles of stuff continued to pile up pile upon pile.  You see, in lieu of the missing junk drawer in our kitchen, we created a Junk Room, a room more charmingly known as “the office”, and today I finally cleaned it out.

It’s a well-known household phenomenon that any undecorated horizontal surface will quickly accrue every homeless paper, envelope, shopping bag, book,  CD, pen, photo, cup, coupon, clipping, and magazine in the house.  And our office desk is one big horizontal surface.  Anything and everything that fell into the “I’ll get to that later” category got dumped on it to await some nebulous future reckoning that I hoped I could put off on the executor of my will.

Unfortunately, that little part of my brain that goes quietly crazy when I have some undone task pendulously hanging over my head wouldn’t settle down, and today it needled me until I agreed to give it what it wanted.  A clean office.

It took a while, but at last the final scrap of paper was tucked away.  I present to you our newly decluttered office:

office1

office2

I realize these would be much more impressive if you could see a “before” picture, but I didn’t think to take one.  I’ll tell you what–print these out, lay them on the table, and then sprinkle them liberally with confetti.  You’ll get the general idea.

Way to go, me!

6 responses »

  1. No fair! You’ve only been there a couple of months. How much junk can pile up in that time? Me, I’ve got four YEARS of stuff on my desk. I don’t think I’ll ever dig out from under it.

  2. “It’s a well-known household phenomenon that any undecorated horizontal surface will quickly accrue every homeless paper, envelope, shopping bag, book, CD, pen, photo, cup, coupon, clipping, and magazine in the house. And our office desk is one big horizontal surface. Anything and everything that fell into the “I’ll get to that later” category got dumped on it to await some nebulous future reckoning that I hoped I could put off on the executor of my will.” –

    OH THIS PHENOMENON OCCURS IN OUR HOUSE TOO!

    Congratulations – a job well done!

    Can you come to my house now?

  3. Yeah we’ve lived in our house WAY longer than you guys and our office is still a stuff-bomb. We’ve actually cleaned it out several times and It’s even looked presentable once or twice… but inevitably some homeless object comes along and gets dumped in the office and it devolves back to it’s natural state of disarray. But this is about you… way to go you! 🙂

  4. WAY TO GO!!!! We are in the middle of this right now. Painting and laying floors, so everything we own is stacked in dusty piles. It looks like a bomb went off upstairs, but we have an estimated finish time on Friday morning, and it will be so WORTH IT! Our goal is to get rid of 2/3 of the clutter.
    Don’t you just feel more settled and ready to take on the next big thing when the clutter’s put away!? And not just hidden?

  5. People hire me to get their businesses organized. Its a gift – I am very good at it – and yes, I am tooting my own horn. I go in, clean it up or clean it out, get it filed and put away, or toss it out. HOWEVER, keeping myself, my house or even my work space organized? Yeah, not so good at that! My house is a wreck, my desk if cluttered beyond belief with stacks and piles galore, and even the floor around my desk is littered with paper and folders and cords, etc. My kids have inherited my lack of organization when it comes to their own belongings, which means their rooms are piled high – corners are occupied with piles, shelves are stacked with much more than books, and underneath the beds…well, don’t get me started 😦 Cleaning day in this house is never fun because when I’ve had it, I’ve had it, and no one rests until ever corner is empty and we have no less than 4 trash bags full of junk, and that’s on an easy day! My family doesn’t like me on “cleaning day”, which subsequently is this Friday. When I made the announcement tonight, the kids all groaned and moaned and asked to go sleep at a friend’s house 🙂

    Go you!! Wanna come to Texas now and give a girl some help??

Leave a Reply

