It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

Standard

With the last day of school quickly approaching, I thought it would be cute to make autograph books for my kindergarten students so they could write little “have a nice summer” and “I’ll miss you” messages to their friends.

But that was before I discovered that Caleb, our precious son, signed the book of every girl in class the same way:

“Your one Hot MaMa!  lovE, Caleb”

*headdesk*

I expect the parent phone calls to begin any moment now.

Meanwhile, I’m not sure what to address first: the appropriate way to talk to girls, or the grammatical difference between “you’re” and “your”.

howyoudoin

9 responses »

  1. Oh my goodness! Your teaching kindergarten the whole year was worth it just to get to see that!! What a memory that I’m sure will be shared with every girl that comes around your house. Priceless.

  2. yeah, start with the appropriate way to talk. i’ll take care of “your” and “you’re” in third grade.

  3. When you give him the “girl” talk, you may want to address the appropriate amount of cologne to wear on a first date because it sound like he’s shaping up to be The Ladies’ Man. 🙂 What a cutie!

  4. Michael & I are both laughing. Sounds just like Michael’s best friend – they’ve known each other since they were 2 and now our kiddos are growing up together!! The only thing I can say is that it, apparently, will get no better as he gets older 🙂 Good luck Kat! I think you’re going to need it!!

    *notice the appropriate use of “you’re” in the above sentence. My English-teacher-mama taught me that at a young age, so I don’t think its ever too early to start with the grammar basics 🙂

Leave a Reply

