A Roof and Four Walls of Our Own

Standard

newhouse2

We found it!  We found our house!

Actually, we found it weeks ago, but I haven’t posted anything about it yet, afraid of trumpeting my joy to the skies only to have some niggling detail along the way derail the whole thing.  It’s not like we haven’t had a few false alarms.

But now that the main hurdles have been jumped, allow me to fling my jubilant bellow upon the air!  We offered, they countered, and everybody signed.  Our house passed its inspection at the head of the class.  The appraisers have come and gone, giving their stamp of approval and freeing the bank to turn the wheels on our loan paperwork.  We are set to close the deal on March 27!

Lest it escape anyone’s notice, that is just a bit more than two weeks away.  And I have yet to pack a thing!

Okay, now I’m a little stressed.

But happy.  Very, very happy.

I have thirteen years worth of HGTV projects tucked away in my head, and I’m going to do them all.

***

Next time on Notes on a Napkin:  Katrina posts more pictures of the new house than most parents have of their firstborn children, then goes over each and every one of her many home improvement plans in precise, excruciating detail.  Won’t that be fun?

13 responses »

  1. CONGRATULATIONS! That is an awesome-looking house. Good luck with your closing. I can’t wait to hear all the details of your upcoming HGTV projects! (Maybe you’ll inspire me…)

  2. Yay for your house! We can’t wait to come over! 🙂 And we still have nearly all of our boxes and quite a bit of packing paper if you’re interested.

  3. Very fun! There’s nothing like buying your first house. What an accomplishment and joy! I can’t wait to hear your remodel ideas. Congratulations to you and your family!! What a great house! And it is yours!

  4. I LOVE it!! It is absolutely darling! I still have a list of projects to do on our house and it will be two years this summer since I moved in. Next on my list is painting my kitchen cabinets. I’ve seen soooo many great kitchen make-overs where they painted the cabinets that I am going to do it! It sure beats spending money on new cabinets!
    Congratulations on the new house and good luck with the projects. Can’t wait to see what you’ve got planned!

  5. YEAH!!! WOO HOO!!! I’m so happy for you guys. It’s a beautiful house!!!!

    Sidenote: I’ve been watching WAAAAY too much HGTV lately which has resulted in our living room – after 8 years of debate – actually getting painted! But only one side of it. I’m still perplexed by the “big” wall that flows into the kitchen.

    Happy Decorating!

  6. I’m actually looking forward to your plethora of photos and decorating ideas! That’s all part of the ‘process’. Isn’t it wonderful how God had the perfect house for you…waiting for you until this – his perfect timing!

  7. Yay! I haven’t visited your blog in ages and ages, and I’m not even sure you remember me. I came here forever ago and found much encouragement in a post you wrote about the blessings of apartments. At that time I was in a place of waiting (for what seemed like endlessly) for a house.
    I am so happy for you!!!! What a treat to come here and find this news! It’s beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

