Thankful

Standard

The Big Things:

*Jesus Christ, who died to reunite my Father and me.  The rest wouldn’t mean anything without Him.

*the love of a good man.  We’ve walked through the sun and the rain, and every day is a little sweeter.

*two unique and amazing kids, with hearts and minds that grow deeper and richer all the time.  They are a wonder, a joy, and an awesome responsibility.

*my precious family.  We live all over the country, but they are always only a phone call away.

*the friendship of loving, talented, sweet-spirited women–girlfriends who have been there through joy and heartache and the kind of laughter that makes you wet your pants.

The Little Things:

*Paul’s job, and mine.  With economic worries swirling around like a flock of malevolent bats, I am deeply thankful for the security of Paul’s job.  I know there will be lots of opportunities in the coming months and years to help others who are struggling, and I’m thankful that we are in a position where we can do that.  It wasn’t very long ago that we were the ones in need.

*the beautiful home we’re renting.  What a blessing to have a yard, and another bedroom, and (eep!) a walk-in closet!  After so many years in our apartment, I feel like Annie visiting Daddy Warbucks for the first time.

*music, and the iPod that makes it possible for me to carry it around.  It’s my own personal soundtrack.

*hot tea.  I think the British are on to something.  In times of discouragement, it’s a small, warm comfort, and in times of peace, it puts a finishing touch on the feeling of contentment.  My favorite?  English Breakfast with a splash of milk and one spoonful of sugar.

*the smiles of strangers.

*Jay Cutler, who is the main reason my Fantasy Football team is leading the league this year.  I know it’s not ladylike to gloat, but…BOOYAH!

*Netflix.  I don’t even miss cable TV.  Well, maybe Mythbusters.

*the sidewalks in our new neighborhood.  I love to walk, and I appreciate places that make it easy.

*my library card, and the wonderful public library it unlocks.

*living in a place that has all four seasons in lovely abundance.  The fall colors were beautiful, and I’m looking forward to winter’s snow.

*my blog, and those who read it.  I really feel like I know some of you, and you have blessed my life.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the beautiful list. Your writings and posts, and your outlook on life is always a blessing in my life each time I read your writings. May you have a wonderful and blessed Thanksgiving with your family. God Bless You!!!

  2. jay cutler is TOTALLY leading my fantasy football team, too! now that’s something to be grateful for. and also, i’m a big fan of netflix. what’s not to like about the service that started me on West Wing and Gilmore Girls?? 🙂 i’m thankful for your blog. thanks for sharing it with us!

Leave a Reply

