Things Kids Say

Standard

With Paul and the rest of the guys out for poker night, we girls convened at Allison’s house for dinner and a visit. I brought my kids, and Christina brought her two, Jessica and Caleb.  The four of them ran joyfully amok together, flitting in and out of the living room where the rest of us were talking and providing ample material for another installment of Funny Things Kids Say:

***

Caleb (reclining on the papa-san chair with Jessica, looking fondly over at her as they recover from a shared fit of giggles):  Maybe we should be married, Jessica.

Jessica:  Aren’t you already married?

Caleb:  I don’t know…  Am I, Mom?

***

Mom:  How many kids do you want to have when you grow up to be a daddy, Caleb?

Caleb:  Um, two.

Mom:  Do you want girls or boys?

Katie:  Or you could have one of each!  (thinks for a moment) Hey, do you think you’ll have an albino?

***

Katie:  Will you spin me and Jessica around in the papa-san chair?

Caleb:  Well, no.  But you could have my autograph.

***

I used to think Bill Cosby was so clever on that show “Kids Say the Darndest Things”, maneuvering the conversation, setting kids up for their zingers.  Now that I’m a mom, I realize what an easy job that must have been.  When you’re learning the ins and outs of the English language and just starting to navigate the complexity of human relationships, the funnies just fall out of you like a trail of graham cracker crumbs.

5 responses »

  1. An albino?! HAHAHAHA…that was really out of left field!

    And I love that Caleb offered up his autograph.

    Your kids are great!

  2. Your kids are hilarious. I can totally picture the scene where Caleb casually mentions to Jessica that they should be married. Ha! I love to write down things mine say also. Great scrapbook material. 🙂

  3. Ok, I would pay good $$ to know where that random albino reference came from. Hilarious.

    First time visitor here, enjoying your stories.

Leave a Reply

