Ho, Ho, Ho! Merry Election Day!

Standard

I have a weird, wonderful feeling tonight, like a kid on Christmas Eve.  Even though most available sources have already declared a loss for my guy, my sense of anticipation is undampened.

There’s just something about a presidential election, you know?  I love to vote.  And even though I think absentee voting is a good thing, I never do it, because I would feel like I was missing out on all the fun.  I love to stand in line, thinking patriotic thoughts as I wait for my turn behind the little curtain.  I love to strike up a conversation with the person standing next to me about how exciting it is to participate in the process of representative government.  I love the friendly smile of the lady handing out ballots, and the purposeful stride of my neighbors as they walk out of the voting booth and slip their envelopes into the box.  I love getting my little sticker that declares to the world (in tiny half-inch letters, I grant you) that “I Voted!”  I love the sense that we are all little individualized cells in this great big breathing organism called the United States.

I don’t know what’s going to happen tomorrow.  I’m pretty sure the world won’t end (although it may get a great deal more uncomfortable).  I imagine the sun will come up the same as always on Wednesday (though there are those who clearly have their doubts about that).  And some people will be partying while others are crying into their coffee.  I just hope that when the smoke clears, we can all go on about the business of being Americans together.

And I hope we get at least a few weeks’ grace before the 2012 election ads start running.

5 responses »

  1. I think this time around, wearing “I voted” stickers are more like sporting war wounds. I think they should say “I stood in line for half the day making polite conversation with a perfect stranger while avoiding the topic of politics altogether and replacing it with witty banter about the cracks in the parking lot next to the poll building” though they might have trouble printing that on a sticker. What would that be? Font size 1.5? Ha!

  2. It is very exciting! I’m pretty sure the outcome won’t be what I’d hoped for but either way, history is made and that’s a good thing. Not to mention, my excitement about this year’s election has in turn excited my children. Now that’s worth it all.

  3. I know how you feel. I’ve had that weird feeling all day long too. Now I have an actual description. I was just saying to a coworker that I think I’ve run across more people talking about their plan to vote or that they’ve already voted this year than in elections past. It’s rather strange. It’s kind of like Christmas. Maybe it’s the belief and hope that it may all just get better.

Leave a Reply

