Bits and Pieces

Standard

*  Last night Paul took me to the INB Performing Arts Center to see The Phantom of the Opera on its national Broadway tour.  It was wonderful!  We’ve been fans of the musical for a long time, and (aside from a Raoul who sounded distractingly like Snidely Whiplash) this production did not disappoint.  Plus, it was an honest-to-goodness dress-up date, complete with coat check and high heels and adult conversation.  And the good night kiss?  Perfection.

*  I’ve been a little absent lately, but there’s a very good reason for it.  We’re moving!  After nearly seven years in our cozy little apartment, we’re madly packing boxes in anticipation of a November 1 relocation to new digs.  Our friends Matt and April moved earlier this year but haven’t been able to sell their house yet, so we’re going to rent it from them.  That will buy us some time to save up a down payment for our own home search while Matt and April wait for the housing market to bounce back.  Everybody wins, including the kids, who will finally have their own bedrooms (although after sharing a bunk bed with Katie for most of his young life, Caleb’s not altogether sure about facing the imaginary monsters in the closet all by himself yet.)

*  With everything that is going on–the move, the upcoming trip to a teacher’s conference in Seattle, the approaching parent teacher conferences, and the ongoing struggle to find balance on the working/homemaking scales–I would be have to be crazy to consider doing NaBloPoMo again this year, right?

Yep.  Crazy.

11 responses »

  1. We saw Phantom last week. My daughter opted to attend a birthday party that day, so we had an extra ticket, which led to an empy seat next to us, which was nice for stretching out. But, my son had a blast during most of the show (he didn’t care much for the operatic love songs). A nice way to introduce him to musical theater.

    Have fun moving. I wish we could move just so I would have a good excuse to throw away lots of stuff. Unfortunately, we love our house.

    Good luck!

  2. Moving is miserable, but a home? You’ll love it. even if it’s just temporary. What a great deal for all involved!

    Oh, and NaBloPoMo? Ya Gotta!!

  3. Congrats on moving to the new place. That has to be so exciting! The kids aren’t going to know what to do with themselves with their own rooms. If you need help moving, please let us know. Chris has a truck and I’ll be happy to volunteer him! HA.

  4. I know this will sound odd, but I’m glad you haven’t been posting much…I haven’t been reading much, so therefore I don’t have much to catch up on, right?!? 🙂 So glad to hear you guys are going to be moving to a bigger place!! How exciting for everyone. Renting is great because when something goes wrong, you just pick up the phone and say, “um, you need to come fix this!”. Congrats!!!

  5. Oh, I am so envious. My parents are going to go see Phantom this coming weekend also, and I SO wish I was going with them. Glad you got to go! I am thrilled for you that you get to move into a bigger place. Are you starting an idea list for NaBloPoMo early since you will be so busy?

  6. Yep – Crazy! I still am debating if I should do it or not – but I post almost everyday anyway so maybe I should….

    Great t hear about your date and your move. And oh what a busy life you have at this time …. I hope you’re getting enough sleep. I just had my conferences with my kids teachers – went great! I love my kids’ teachers 🙂

    Aloha,
    Liza

  7. How cool is that?! Your friends need renters and you need a house! I love how God works things out. Nothing happens on accident. Enjoy the move! 🙂

Leave a Reply

