100% Return Rate

Standard

Eleven kindergartners went on the field trip today.  Eleven came back.

I feel pretty good about that.

Yes, I’ve survived my very first ever field trip as a kindergarten teacher, a milestone that I looked upon with trepidation in the days leading up to our schoolwide expedition to Carver Farms, a beautiful and expansive patch of land in the heart of farm country.  But, as usual, all my worrying was for naught.  Several parents came along, and I was able to assign a pair of students to each adult, making the hand-to-kid ratio a nice, comfortable 1:1.  We enjoyed a hayride, took a jaunt through the corn maze, picked colorful Indian corn and perfectly plump pumpkins, and filled our tote bags to bursting with festive fall goodies.

Finally, after a lovely lunch break beneath an obligingly shady tree, the whole happy, dusty, disheveled crew piled back onto the bus, covered in corn silk and chattering gleefully to each other about their treasures.  I had a wonderful time, but this was my favorite part–all my little chicks safely tucked back into bus seats for the drive home, counted and accounted for.

Thank you, God!

*I took a lot more photos, but I didn’t want to post pictures of anyone else’s kids without their express permission, so you’ll have to make do with my little pumpkins.

10 responses »

  1. We took a field trip yesterday to Wallace, and my sixth tour through the Sierra Silver Mine.

    That part was fine, as usual.

    But after, we ventured up the new Pulaski Trail. Hardest two miles I’ve ever hiked, and we still didn’t make it to the top. In fact, I thought I wouldn’t make it back at all. I had shooting pains in my arm at one point — that’s what I get for RUNNING up the steep parts, so my wife made us turn back just a few hundred yards from the end of the trail.

    Oh well, next time I bring an oxygen tank and defibrulator.

  2. The field trips never stop. My son, a senior in high school, just went on a field trip that included a dip in the “coldest water ever”. Apparently they even coaxed their teacher into the water by calling him all kinds of names that teenage boys, in all their creativity, are not afraid to call their teachers these days. Today he’s off on a field trip of his own – doing a job shadow of a teacher and a college visit across town…

  3. We went to Carver Farms on Sunday. They have a wonderful area up there. Chase’s class is going on Oct 20th. I’ll be a parent helper on that trip. Glad all went well!

  4. Carver Farms is always fun. Great job with your class. I saw you getting them all ready for a class picture and had to sigh just a little. Still, I’m glad it’s you since it can’t be me.

  5. Looks like a lot of fun. If you ever decide to take them on a field trip on Tubbs Hill sometime, let me know in advance and maybe they could stop at the stickman’s house before they go. Just a thought. I have many school classes come by and it’s always a lot of fun. Keep up the good work and enjoy the school year. The Stickman

  6. I loved this post and your vivid description of this trip. The photos are an added pleasure to enjoy. I had a “field trip from heck” a few years ago. If we meet face-to-face I will fill you in on the details of a broken down bus in hot weather, missing money, and a crazy group of middle school students. I still shudder. lol.

Leave a Reply

