R.I.P.

Standard

At approximately 6:14 p.m. Pacific Standard Time on this 14th day of September, after eight years of faithful and unshirking service, our Eureka Whirlwind Bagless Upright Vacuum sucked his last.  His final moments were peaceful and productive, suffused with the soothing scent of Glade Peaches & Petals Carpet Deodorizer.  No rogue Lego or forgotten marble could stop the mighty roar of his motor.  Instead, when his time had come, he simply shut down, his sudden silence descending with a sad finality across our freshly swept carpets.  (He finished the job, of course.  How like him.)

So, what now?

What efficient (but affordable) machine could possibly take over the sacred duty of de-crumbing the Notes family carpets?

Really, I’m open to suggestions.

12 responses »

  1. I agree… The best is the Dyson Animal.

    I read one comment somewhere from a woman who said her new Dyson vacuumed up all the dog hair in her carpet. And she hadn’t had a dog in over a year.

    We have a Dyson and love it. I’m continually amazed at how much dust and hair it sucks up.

  2. I recommend a Rainbow. The only drawback is that it’s a canister, which can be a pain to lug around, but the water filtration means no dusty bags to empty, which is my favorite part, and it also cleans REALLY well.

  3. I hated our Rainbow BUT it cleaned better than any other vacuum ever. Great for getting rid of allergens, if that’s an issue.

    My sister swears by her Dyson too.

  4. I bought a Kenmore Progressive (Sears) when I just couldn’t quite fork over my only child for a Dyson. I love the Progressive. It sucks up hair and fur and dirt. I love it. But I don’t have a Dyson, so I can’t really compare. If you go to Sears, though, they let you try them out on a little sample carpet with sample dirt. It’s at least something to try.

  5. Hey Amy…I can compare 🙂

    Really, they are very similar. We currently have the Progressive because my husband felt the Dyson wasn’t doing its job. Men. They actually do about the same so you can’t go wrong with either choice 🙂 I like the Dyson better because it’s bagless.

  6. I, too, swear by the Dyson. Woot.com sometimes has rebuilt ones for pretty cheap, but you have to get them early. That’s how we got ours and it is everything I dreamed it would be. Sigh.

  7. I’ve gotta join the echoing chorus resounding the name: Dyson! It was by far the best vacuum purchase we’ve ever made. It sucks good! We (my husband) actually *accidently* broke it while trying to empty it once and they sent us all the replacement parts free of charge!

  8. My mother swears by her Dyson Animal… I want one SOOOOO bad, but Kyle won’t let me have one until our old faithful breaks down. Our current Vacuum is a tank – it’s gonna last forever. I’ll never get a Dyson. 😦

  9. I must not be a domestic engineer because I don’t even know what a Dyson is. We love our Hoover Wind Tunnel upright. It has survived lots of dog and cat hair, wood pieces and bark from the firewood, lots of sand, and much sucking up of things that I don’t notice until I hear a rattle… particularly paper clips. That is a teacher thing.

  10. I just came across your blog…love it! I am probably late on this as you have most likely made your purchase BUT we just bought the normal (first one to be made) Dyson AND LOVE IT! Sounds like I am preaching to the choir but seriously it is worth the investment. The Animal (as mentioned above) is the most expensive of the Dyson family (just as a heads up) but i have heard its fabulous too. I am thinking that they are all fabulous. We used a 20% Bed Bath and Beyond coupon too (which never expire even though there is an expiration date-who knew?) Hope my unsolicitated advice helps! 🙂

Leave a Reply

