First Day

Standard

If the twelve students in my kindergarten class had a little pep in their step at the end of the day today, it was because they were sucking energy directly from me.  Seriously, I’m tired.  Who knew a few hours of herding five year olds could be so exhausting?

Oh, but it was fun.  I was right about that.  If I close my eyes, I can see those sweet cherub faces–so excited and nervous and mischievous and funny–and hear those sweet piping voices–asking question after question and bursting ardently in on my explanation of the short “i” sound to tell me all about the soft, fuzzy chicks they hatched in their preschool class last year.

It was chaotic, to be sure.  I imagine first days usually are.  There were parents to meet and supplies to collect and classroom rules to explain, and half of my carefully laid lesson plans went out the window in the dizzying rush of first day duties.  But there was also story time in the reading corner, where twelve pairs of eyes gazed with rapt attention at the same book and the hush of waiting for the unraveling of the next written word wrapped around us like the calm eye of a storm.  There was laughter and there were hugs, and I know that there will be more of both tomorrow.

I’m only beginning to know their names and their faces, but already I am praying for them, and praying that I’ll find the wisdom, patience, and knowledge to be the teacher they need this year.  After all, I’m the only one they get.

***

You know what?  I just realized that I still remember my kindergarten teacher…

Mrs. Edmundson.

Thank you, Mrs. Edmundson, wherever you are. (And I was telling the truth.  I really didn’t let that stray cat into the building on purpose.)

15 responses »

  1. Congratulations on your first day. That’s big time. My daughter starts first grade in the morning. She loved her Kindergarten teacher so much. They emailed all summer. It was awesome. Good luck tomorrow.

  2. I was thrilled to hear it went so well. I survived also, but realized I had to do lots of routines and rules with middle school kids… they are just in bigger bodies… and let the truth be known… they love to hear a story also.

  3. Glad the first day went well and I can relate to the energy that teaching drains out of you! I know you will be a blessing to all of the children you teach!

  4. Hooray for first days…and last days 🙂 Here’s hoping all of the days in between will be just as fun as yesterday was for you! I’m impressed that you attempted to do any teaching at all on the 1st day. Those kiddos better hold onto their seats….Ms. Katrina has plans for you!!! On Morgann’s first day, when I asked what they did, she simply said, “My bottom hurts mommy! All we did was sit on the floor criss-cross-applesauce and listen to different teachers talk!” She was absolutely convinced that she would not enjoy anymore days of Kindergarten if this was to be the norm. So glad that they did something different on days 2, 3 & 4!!!

  5. Congrats on a successfully exhausting but fun day! 🙂

    My sister would (and probably will) offer up advice from one teacher to another. If a parent asks questions, allow them a moment of your time. Just acknowledging them is often enough. There will always be a parent hog but we ask cuz we care! (I personally work hard not to be THAT parent..hehe)

    Did any one or more children stand out to you yet? Shy, smart, funny or potential trouble?

  6. Oh, yeah. I should have mentioned that whole energy sucking thing. Sorry. But the days only get easier and funner from here.

    Story time is one of my favorite parts of the day, too. Who doesn’t love a good story after all?

    And I kept waiting for the phone to ring yesterday. I was ready to answer all your questions. 🙂

  7. What a fun day! I remember my Kindergarten teacher’s name…Mrs Gass. I LOVED kindergarten…and you’ll be cherished as the greatest teacher ever in those little lives for a long, long time! I wish we had story time at work 😉

  8. Congrats on a good first day! I remember my kindergarten teacher too. She erroneously believed that I knocked over the felt board on the first day and I had to stand in the corner. No kidding. Some snotty little boy did it. I think I need some therapy to get over kindergarten…

  9. What I wouldn’t give for 12 kindergarten students! I have 22!!!! This is our second week and I’m still exhausted at the end of the day. It will get better about week 4. ha! Enjoy your year!!

  10. My kindergarten teacher was Mrs. Greenburger. And we had a kid in a wheelchair. And I didn’t see those kids again until I was in seventh grade and they teased me mercilessly on the bus because I was new.

    Um, tangent, much? Sorry. Glad you had a good first day. You brave lady.

  11. Mrs. Brocard. Just think, I only vaguely recall the names of my 1st thru 3rd grade teachers, so in all likelihood, your name will forever be burned in the long-term memories of those twelves little ones, while the names of the other teachers will slip away in time. Enjoy guiding these precious ones into a lifetime of learning!

Leave a Reply

