10…9…8…7…

Standard

Well, here we are.  Tomorrow morning, bright and early, Caleb will start kindergarten.  And so will I.

What happened to the whole long summer that I had spread out in front of me?  I dipped my toe in the lake, slept a couple of nights in a tent, and suddenly twelve weeks have dwindled down to twelve short hours.

Tonight feels like that moment when you’re all strapped into the roller coaster car, just about to take off, and a large chunk of your brain is wondering what the heck you were thinking, knowing all the while that it’s already too late to get off the ride.

Don’t worry, I keep telling myself.  That’s the feeling you feel just before the fun begins.

12 responses »

  1. Awww! You have a great day, too! I SOOO understand the feeling!!! SQUEEE! You’re gonna be a kindiegarten teacher!!!

    You will be SO great! And I wanna see pictures of your class! 🙂

  2. Chaselyn started kindergarten today too! I think I was more excited about it than she was. Although she is attending the same school, just switching classes I made a huge deal out of it. We cleaned her room, got her backpack ready, laid her clothes out for this morning and I taught her how to operate her alarm clock. (It’s a long story but I’m tired of fighting with her to get up in the morning – now it’s her responsibility!)

    You’ll be a great teacher! Yes, I too wondered where the summer went. It just seems like school got out yesterday! Hang in there. Have a GREAT first day of school! 🙂

  3. I am praying now for God to bless you as you all go to school tomorrow! May your year of teaching and learning be filled with many blessings from Him! I think you are right. That is the very feeling right before you have a lot of fun (and the scary, breathtaking parts are part of it!)

  4. You are, and have been, in my prayers. And it is like a roller coaster–speeding up and down and all around. Now you just have to raise your hands and say “wheee!”

  5. I am certain today was a wonderful day – not only for your own children, not only for you, but for your CLASS!! How lucky they are!! I hope you laughed and felt so very very blessed! (And that you go to bed early – Kindergarten is tiring!!)

  6. I can tell just from this post that you are a “glass is half full” kind of person. And I’m glad your first day was great (albeit chaotic!).

    My middle girl started Kindergarten this week and she is loving it. She is tired at the end of the day but it’s a good kind of tired. 🙂

Leave a Reply

