Spoiled Rotten: Further Evidence

Standard

My birthday. I hold my breath and wonder what exciting gadget/software/technological miracle The Geek has found for me this year. Whatever it is, I know from experience that it will suddenly and inextricably become a pivotal part of my functional life and I will lose my ability to remember how I lived without it.

Exhibit A:

I didn’t even know I needed one of these, but let me tell you how totally cool it is.

It surfs the internet, sends and receives email, catalogs my contact list, and syncs its on-board datebook with my Google calendar.

It holds all my music, shows videos, and plays games.

With a simple touch, I can access the weather report, a calculator, road maps, stock prices, or a simple notepad.

It has tons of downloadable free applications, including the Bible, Sudoku, and Pandora radio.

Scrolling by flicking your finger across the screen is indescribably satisfying.

I’m still figuring out all the things it can do, but it has already effortlessly replaced my old iPod and my Palm Pilot in one swift stroke.

In short, I love it.

Thanks, babe!

11 responses »

  1. I am very happy for you. The Touch I-Pod, indeed, ranks right up there on the miracle scale with turning water into wine. It’s all in the touch.

    BUT, /clears throat loudly/
    if I’m not mistaken, last year you received a Canon Rebel camera (am I correct?) and I had looked forward to your blog being stuffed, jam-packed, flooding with pictures taken with your new camera.

    I’m a wee, just a wee, bit disappointed.

    I’m wondering if maybe, just maybe, with your new time saving device you might be able to devote a little more time to photography and show off your aesthetic gifts and the power of last year’s wonderful gadget.

    πŸ™‚

    How about?

    Happy Birthday!!!

    Have fun!!!

    Oh, dear…you’re on to me, RP. I am sorry to report that my photographic “talent” (such as it is), did not increase exponentially with the acquisition of my fabulous new camera. However, I will, in deference to your great support of my blog and person, attempt to post a few more of my meager offerings in future.

  2. I LOVE the iPhone. I don’t know how I lived without mine either. It has saved me numerous times — when construction interrupts my directions, when I need to access info from an email, and even at a concert when the will call people couldn’t find record of our tickets. That thing is definitely a godsend!

  3. (1) Happy, happy birthday, you spoiled little thing you!

    (2) We got an iPod Touch for FREE when we purchased Michael’s new iMac about a month ago, and I have yet to get to even touch it! He, of course, took it as his own, and the kids & he get to play all sorts of games. Me, I just get to pass it from one persona to the next without any time for myself. *sigh* Oh well! At least my family of geeks-in-the-making are all happy πŸ™‚

    (3) Did I mention, happy birthday πŸ™‚ I was sure to read your blog out loud so that my resident geek knew that my cool, Wow playing friend got a cool new toy; figured he might buy a clue since my birthday is just around the corner…well, ok, November, but it’ll be here before he knows it!!!

  4. When I got my 160GB iPod for my birthday last year, I had to promise my wife that I wouldn’t ask for any more electronic gadgets for a very long time.

    Hmmm… Has it been a “long time” yet?

  5. I looked at an iPhone, but we’d have to break contract and then move to a service that none of our family is on. We’d also pay a lot per month for a data-anywhere plan. Also, my wife has a pet peeve: stinky battery life. The iPhone only has a 5-hour talk time on average. The touch doesn’t have the external speaker, GPS, or camera. All that just drains the battery when she’s got a nice portable pocket camera and an extended life phone (with cam).

    And she IS taking pics with the Rebel. It smokes scenery like s’mores on a campfire. πŸ˜€

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

    What a great gift – not because it’s just a cool gizmo – but because Paul knows YOU so well and knows YOU would absolutely love it.

  7. Happy, Happy Birthday!!! It’s always nice to see what fun and exciting gifts Paul gets you. I’ll have to ask him to talk to Chris for me. I pretty much pick out my own gifts which is getting, well, pretty boring. I’d just as soon go without a gift then have to pick my own.

    Although, my gift to “myself” this year is spending my birthday (b-day 8/15) in Reno with the Body Shop girls at the annual conference. I’m soooo excited I can hardly stand it. No hubby, no kid…just the girls!

    Happy Birthday Katrina!

Leave a Reply

