Bits and Pieces

Standard

I seem to be on the cusp of developing a raging non-blogging habit. Can’t let that happen. Let’s do a little catching up!

*Ever since Paul pulled the board out a few weeks ago, Monopoly has been all the rage around here. Every time I turn around, one or the other of the kids is waving paper money under my nose and begging me to take a few spins past the Boardwalk. It’s a great family activity, giving us a chance to teach Caleb important lessons, like: “Jail is bad. You don’t want to go there.” And: “The bank is not for personal loans.” And: “Never let Katie get a monopoly or you will end up not only losing your money but owing her all your desserts for a week.” Seriously, Paul and I have instituted a Monopoly Trade Commission; its sole mandate is to keep Katie from taking unfair advantage of her brother, who will agree with cheerful good nature to absolutely anything she proposes. (“All of Caleb’s greens plus Park Place in exchange for B&O Railroad? Sorry. Overruled!”)

*Paul and I have a hot date planned to go see Ironman in the theater this week. I can’t wait! I love superhero origin movies, and this promises to be a fun one, with plenty of delicious special effects, and Robert Downey Jr., to boot. I have a soft spot for superheroes who achieve their “super-ness” through superior technology and sheer determination. After all, if I’m ever going to be a superhero, that’s pretty much the route I have to take, not having access to vats of industrial waste or irradiated laboratory creatures.

*Katie’s class will be taking buses to a local pool to take swimming lessons in a couple of weeks. I’m trying not to be all overprotective-mom-ish about it, but I’m this close to disguising myself in a Hannah Montana bathing suit and a pair of water wings and infiltrating the class so I can keep an eye on her.

*Last weekend, the Women of Faith conference came to Spokane, and, thanks to the generosity of a friend, I was able to attend. When the voices of twenty-thousand women singing “How great is our God!” spiral upward in unison all around you, it’s like a long, cool drink of water for your soul. Over the two days of the conference, I was uplifted, entertained, and touched. There were plenty of laughs and tears to go around. Anita Renfroe stopped in to give a special performance of “Mom’s Overture”, and we heard Sandi Patty (Sandi Patty!) sing and share her story. We rocked out to Nicole C. Mullen (and had to admire her finely chiseled arms–that girl has some guns!) But by far, the most affecting moment for me was listening to Sheila Walsh talk about prayer, and the struggle a Christian faces when God says no. Oh, how I have been there! She reminded us that even Christ Himself heard “no” from His Father when He was praying in the garden. The grace to accept God’s answer to prayer comes from resting in His will instead of mine. To be honest, I’m still working on it.

Well, that’s all I have written on my napkin for now. May your week be blessed (and may you land on Free Parking!)

19 responses »

  1. Thanks for the update! Favorite line, “if I’m ever going to be a superhero, that’s pretty much the route I have to take, not having access to vats of industrial waste or irradiated laboratory creatures.” Sigh. Your writing is like a breath of fresh air! Don’t stop blogging! πŸ˜‰

    Thank you, Lisa! And don’t worry; it’s too much fun to stop altogether! I definitely go in waves of feeling inspired and uninspired, though. I suppose if I ever do achieve my dream of writing professionally, I’ll have to overcome that!

  2. Haha – the visual of you infiltrating the swimming class is too funny!

    I’ll save that Hannah Montana bathing suit. You might want to borrow it when Kerensa is taking her first swimming lessons!

  3. “Katie’s class will be taking buses to a local pool to take swimming lessons in a couple of weeks. I’m trying not to be all overprotective-mom-ish about it, but I’m this close to disguising myself in a Hannah Montana bathing suit and a pair of water wings and infiltrating the class so I can keep an eye on her.”

    Photographs will be required.

    Sure! I’ll post my bathing suit shots when you show those post-childbirth photos you mentioned in your blog! πŸ˜‰

  4. “Amen” on Women of Faith. What a great weekend.

    And the boys took swimming lessons and it was very safe. Of course I was there watching the whole time.

    Whoa! You mean attend the swimming lessons as an involved parent, sans disguise? Ack, why didn’t I think of that??? (And more importantly, will Walmart let me return this Miley Cyrus tankini in adult size 10?)

  5. I think that you were born with a mutant ability to manipulate words to maximize their full potential, and you do know that the pen is mightier than the sword. I am sorry to say, however, that your super hero origin movie may not be blockbuster.

    Thank you, Marci! And you might be right; it’s hard to tell how these superhero movies will pan out. Look at “Hulk”. On the up side, though, we might get very lucky and have another X-Men or Spiderman on our hands. Only box office receipts will tell…

  6. How exciting that you got to attend the Women of Faith conference, Katrina! I wish I could have been even a fly on the wall! Love ya!

    I wish you could, too! Maybe one of these times your furlough will coincide with WoF meeting nearby and you and your mom and sister can go. I really enjoyed it!

  7. If you are a super hero, you get to wear your pants on the outside of your trousers πŸ™‚

    Fanks you…… just fanks……

    x

    That’s the primary appeal of superhero life! I have some really cute underpants. Now I just need to buy matching capes!

  8. I have always wanted to go to that Conference in Spokane, but other stuff is always going on. Maybe I should put it on the calendar now for next year!!!

    Yes, do! It is well worth it. πŸ™‚

  9. I noticed you wrote about all your happy highlights. And although you say you’re still my friend and talking to me, Steve noticed that you didn’t show up to life group, so maybe there is some latent hostility?

    Dear, sweet, wonderful Kathy: never think it! I actually had a lot of fun at the auction, a small handful of slight grumps notwithstanding. I am excited that it was so successful and that the money will be going to such a great cause! I would have put up with a LOT more grumbling for all the benefit it brought to the Christian school! You did a wonderful job, and I’m proud of you. (Oh! And we had a sick kid on Sunday! Sorry we missed the yummy Beef and Vegetable Bake!)

  10. The way you felt at Women of Faith – which I’ve never had the pleasure of attending – is exactly the way I have felt at the MOPS conventions πŸ™‚ It’s an absolutely overwhelming feeling of peace, isn’t it???

    That’s wonderful, Jennifer! From what I understand, we have a really big, involved MOPS group here, too. I’ve had several friends in it and they all love it! I’m glad you’re enjoying the closeness and fellowship!

  11. I’m glad that you were able to go to the Women of Faith conference. What an encouraging time!

    Also, I have a blog question for you…how did you write comments on comments? I want to do that too!

    Blessings!

    Glad to help, Tracey! When you’re logged into WordPress and you go to look at the comments under your post, you should see a link next to each one that says “Edit Comment”. Click on that. What I do is go down to the end of the comment, click on the italics button (i), type my response, and then click on the italics button again to close the italics (/i). Click on “Save” and voila! Your response shows up right after theirs in the same comment box. πŸ™‚

  12. I think you are probably dead on with the Monopoly Trade Commission. I bet my youngest sister Brittany wishes that we had something like that in real life when I convinced her to give me her 10 dollar bill in exchange for a small baby jar full of pennies. Bless her heart, she thought since there were more of the coins than the flimsy piece of green paper that she was the richest…On the upside, though, I’m in marketing so that’s an experience that could give me a leg up on the competition. πŸ™‚

    Heehee…the old pennies for paper trick! I believe we tried that one on my sister a few times growing up (when the “Trade Commission” was out of earshot!) I’m sure your powers of persuasion are being put to good use in your current profession! πŸ™‚

  13. First of all, sorry for the generic comment.

    I know either you read my blog at times and/or I really enjoy YOUR blog. I need to make my blog private for a time and possibly move to a new URL. Let’s just say that mean people really suck.

    If you are interested in reading/continuing to read (even ocasionally, no commitment for daily reading required!) I want to invite you to my private blog.

    Please go to my site via my name here in the comments and follow the directions.

    Sorry to be such a pain. πŸ˜›

    Have a happy day!

  14. So…. how did you like Ironman? I’m a little bit late commenting so I am assuming you already had that hot date πŸ™‚

    And did you transform into Hanna Montana? I don’t think you did. I’m assuming Katie did well…

    And I’m glad to read that you were able to attend the Women of Faith Conference. Conferences like that are always a spiritual booster.

    I need to do a bit and pieces post too. Lots going on but not much time to sit down and update my family and friends. I think I need to do that….

    Happy weekend…actually, happy Monday tomorrow πŸ™‚

  15. Katrina, I just wanted to thank you for your constant encouragement – not only through your blogs but also thru the uplifting comments you always leave. You are so consistent to always leave an uplifting remark on everyone’s site. I really appreciate that about you. I love having such genuine, sweet cyber friends like you! Thanks again!

  16. Hi! Just checking on you! Seems I’ve sort of slipped away from blogging, too. But I always like to come over and check out what’s going on in your life!

Leave a Reply

