Scribbles

Standard

*I’m having a little trouble jumpstarting my Monday. I’m not even sure I’m completely awake, although a peremptory sniff of my armpits tells me that my body at least walked itself through my morning shower and deodorant ritual. The sky is gray. The snow is gray. The air even smells gray. The chill of late winter is still needling through my clothes, sliding its unwelcome gray tentacles into the open sleeve, the unbuttoned collar. Come, spring!

*I just talked to my sister on the phone. She and Daniel moved to Georgia right after the wedding, in pursuit of better job opportunities and housing prices. With their week long drive across the country, they’ve already started writing the story of their marriage, and it’s great to hear the note of sweet contentment in her voice. But oh, how I miss her already.

*By the way, I tried to find a bridesmaid’s dress. I looked all over town, and all over the next town. Amber went with me into Spokane to scour the bridal shops and department stores. Finally, exhausted and about to concede defeat, we were lamenting the lack of dark green gowns on the matrimonial landscape (it must not be the “in” color right now) when Amber lit up like a bulb and asked, “Why don’t you just wear the same dress I wore in your wedding?” So I did. It may not have been the sassy green cocktail dress of my dreams, but it was sublimely satisfying to stand beside Amber on her special day in the same dress she had worn on mine.

*Friday night we had Girls’ Night Out in celebration of Jen‘s birthday. After falling upon a table full of Applebee’s half-price appetizers, we hit the theater to see Penelope, a warm-hearted fable about an aristocratic girl who is born with the face of a pig as the result of an old family curse. It sounds weird, right? I adored it. It probably didn’t hurt that James McAvoy was in it (and, as Kathy pointed out, who can better sympathize with a pig-faced girl than a man who very recently sported hooves?) The ending was lovely, and included a kiss which instantly catapulted onto my list of the Top Ten Movie Kisses of All Time (which I should share with you sometime.) I can’t wait to add it to my DVD collection.

*Paul and I just celebrated our twelfth anniversary! And as everyone knows, twelve is the Rock Icon Anniversary, so we commemorated it by buying Queen–The Platinum Collection: Greatest Hits I, II, & III. What? Queen isn’t your thing? Come on–you can’t tell me it doesn’t stir your blood to hear the opening stomp-stomp-clap of We Will Rock You or that kicking guitar riff from Bohemian Rhapsody. I know, we’ve got great taste. What can we say? We are the champions.

*Well, it’s time to go slice and dice some lunch. I’m trying to get back to my healthy meats and veggies after spiraling out of control on slices of leftover wedding cake. Fortunately, that delectable concoction is gone now, and I can once again eat a carrot without having to trick myself into choosing it over cream cheese frosting.

8 responses »

  1. Happy Anniversary!! This June we’ll be celebrating our 18th. I’ve already started saving up for the big 20th Anniversary Trip in 2010. It takes longer to save up when you have to multiply the tickets by 4 instead of just 2. Yeah, we always take our kids on our anniversary outings.

    Queen is the only band I’ve seen in concert twice. 1981 and 1983. Amazing show. Freddie Mercury was a showman like no other. I still have the t-shirts from those concerts!

  2. And you *are* the champions, my friends. Gotta love it! I’m actually headed to SS in a couple of weeks and can’t wait. First time in quite a while. Happy anniversary!

  3. 12 yrs?!?! I remember when a freshly married, starry-eyed couple drove through Mt Vernon, TX on their way to a great adventure. They stopped and stayed with us – I recently found a pict of the girl sticking her tongue out at her husband…imagine that!
    Congrats!! And may you have many more!!

  4. Congrats on 12 years ๐Ÿ™‚ – trying to think where I was 12 years into marriage…. oh yeah 4 kids LMFAO….

    x

  5. Yes, I have been listening to Queen alot lately. It was our “theme album” when we our family performed in our latest play. We listened to Bohemian Rhapsody as we drove up to the theater to get us energized.

    Congrats on your twelfth anniversary. It will only get better and better!!

  6. I agree with you there. It seems that abstinence is not even being given as an option anymore. It’s like everything is already a foregone conclusion that they will have sex. it’s even gotten to the point that people I know whoare over 20 and still a virgin are ashamed to admit that they are still a virgin. It’s so wrong.

  7. Happy anniversary! I totally have that same collection! I love Queen. And Bohemian Rhapsody ROCKS! When I’ve had a couple drinks, I get incredibly into that song. I even have moves that go with it. They’re so good that when I go to piano bars with my closest friends, they always request it just for me so they can be inspired by my awesome moves. Or laugh at them. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hi, Katrina — I don’t know if you’ll remember me from HU or not…I found your blog through Tracey Ries’…I loved the kiss in Penelope, too, especially since it started BEFORE he saw that she had changed.

    Hi, Sandi! I do remember you! Thanks for popping by and saying hello. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

