Five

Standard

Caleb Five 1

Today he’s five.

He’s five and fearless.

He’s five and ferocious.

Five and full of frantic energy; it buzzes beneath his skin like static, and before I blink, he’s off to whatever new adventure awaits on the other side of the room, the other side of the world. Maybe he lets me go with him, or maybe he doesn’t. It’s a great honor to be invited.

He’s five and funny. Sometimes on purpose, even. He mixes up words and tells jokes and says things so unexpectedly profound that it’s hard to tell if he’s confused or Confucius in a forty pound pack.

Five and friendly. Hello to the checkout lady. Hello to the neighbors. Hello to the grumpy guy at the bank, who breaks into maybe his first smile ever, so creaky and unexpected. Five and friendly, except when he’s shy, peering out from behind my legs like he did when he was freshly upright and toddling around, looking at the big, wide world from high-up eyes for the first time. We all need someone to hide behind some days.

Five and fast. Too fast. He runs to Daddy. He runs to Bible class. He runs away, running and running. I call to him to come back, but back is not a direction kids go, so I run along behind the best I can, sometimes staying close and sometimes falling back, watching and panting from the exertion of trying to keep up.

Look at my boy, running.

He’s five, and he’s fascinating.

Happy Birthday, Caleb!

Caleb Five 2

Caleb Five 3

16 responses »

  1. I actually got choked up reading this post- having a little man of my own who’s growing up so unbelievably fast, I’m torn between not being able to wait until he’s reached those awesome milestones of walking, talking, asking endless questions and melting my heart with unexpected acts of affection… and just wanting his babyhood to last forever.
    Ah, motherhood. Congratulations on your gorgeous, brilliant baby boy- he’s everything I hope and pray mine will be one day.

    Side note: I do own Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers, the retelling of the book of Hosea. It’s absolutely fantastic, to be sure. The owner of Sower, before she closed the store, practically begged me to buy it, raving about how great it was. And although I don’t usually go for “love stories” of any sort, this one was in a class of its own- not so much a love story as a powerful portrayal of a man of faith who refused to give up on God’s will. And of course He had a plan all along- which doesn’t He always?
    Thanks so much for all your kind comments on my blog- I always get cheered up when I read your encouraging words, and I hope to meet you and give you a big hug at the Blogfest.

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDEE CALEB….. 5 is such a great age, on the brink of discovery…… it all goes so quickly….

    And what a handsome little chap Caleb is……. gorgeous, I wanna pinch his cheeks LOL

    x

  3. What a great picture! And the post matches its greatness. How true, five is a great year, and my boy, too, is always running and doing! What a sweet family you have. They are blessed to have you.

  4. Belated Happy Birthday Caleb! I am sure you had lots of fun!

    Katrina, both your kids are gorgeous beautiful kids!

    You have such a neat family.

    I love how your photos are all very sharp and clear 🙂

Leave a Reply

