The Home Stretch

Standard

With only four days left to go, this year’s NaBloPoMo is nearly in the books.  I can hardly wait to put that little “I participated in National Blog Posting Month and all I got was this sidebar logo” button on my page.  Then, of course, there are the prizes.  I could win anything from a sock zombie to an Amazon gift certificate.  I’m personally hoping for a zombie–they’re kind of cute.

Meanwhile, as I think I mentioned in my last post, my sister Amber has sweetly asked me to be her matron-of-honor (But can we use another word besides “matron”?  I just don’t feel very matronly.)  Not only that, but she’s letting me pick out my own dress!   (Did I mention how much I love my sister?)  It just has to be green.

So, I’ve been shopping.  Here are some possible contenders:

Green Dress 1

Green Dress 2

Green Dress 3

Yeah, I just put that last one in to see if you were still paying attention.

26 responses »

  1. go for dress number one. Number two is more “mother of the bride” while the first one says, “That flax seed and salad routine has definitely paid off!” Although, that third option would be a sure conversation piece… if only it came in green.

  2. Go for dress number 3 and stick with yellow…you’ll stand out amongst the crowd, although that might take away from the bride. 😉 I like either of the first two choices, but my vote is for #1. Unless it’s a more formal wedding, then go with #2. Obviously I can’t make up my mind, so maybe #3 is the way to go.

  3. Definitely #1 — you’re waaayyyy too young and “hip-chick” for the mother-of-the-bride dress. No one who wears that dress would even know what warcraft is, and she certainly wouldn’t be so attached to an iPod!

    Have fun — I’m still a newlywed and miss the shopping part of the wedding planning!

    Long-time lurker from ATL – found you through egg in spoon (BTW, where’s Jill been?)

  4. #1. #3 would make you look like a banana in a boa. Instead of Matron of Honor, how about Warrior Queen Who Will Vanquish All Dissention? That has a nice ring to it.

  5. #1 although #3 would be fun. I like Jenn’s idea of knocking over drinks and little children. Funny!!! Caleb could actually hide under that one! LOL! #1 would look awesome on you!

  6. Ok, green, really?!? I’m not much a green-lover, so I’m having a hard time getting past the color. But if I had to pick between those 3 choices, I’m with the rest of the group – #1. I like your 3rd choice, but if you went with the color green, you’d look allot like a shrub, which would defeat the whole purpose of shock value – if it’s an outdoorsy event, you’d just blend in with the foliage and that wouldn’t suit you very well 🙂 And, along with the rest of the group, I think #2 looks too matronly, so unless you want to live up to your title, I’d stay away from it completely!

  7. Dress one is elegant and lovely and I think it will suit you so well! Dress two looks more matronly so if you’re not in a matronly place, chuck that one in the bin. And the Big Bird as Bridesmaid’s Gown – goodness. THAT was funny.

  8. I was definitely tempted by Sarah’s offer for a few moments, but in the end, I love my sister too much to do that to her. After all, I could spend that emergency fund in an hour, but she’ll have to live with the pictures for a lifetime…

  9. Um…. WHAT??????????????

    Okay. Now that I am over the shock (and terrifically thrilled for Amber!) go for #1. Show off that hot bod! You look great in green and I think that dress will really flatter you.

    I think that you should reserve #3 for our next Amigas getaway. You never know when you will need some good tulle

Leave a Reply

