Thank You

Standard

This Thursday we will celebrate Thanksgiving, a day of feasting, football, and family–not to mention friends, fart jokes, finicky four year olds, and fifty foot parade floats. It’s a day for generations to assemble and share laughter and sweet potato casserole recipes, a day for competitive games of Trivial Pursuit and falling asleep in the recliner with your mouth open. It’s a day to share all the old stories (like the one where Kathy put me in charge of the gravy and I turned it into something resembling turkey-flavored jello.) It’s a day for tradition. And I so love all of that. It’s important, though, amidst all of the foofala, when we’re pushing our chairs back from the table and unbuttoning the top button on our pants in gustatory delight, to remember what the Thanksgiving holiday is all about: giving thanks.

So this week, Thanksgiving week, I’m going to post every day about one of my blessings. I have so many, the only hard part will be choosing seven. Because I’ll tell you right now, I am one very rich girl. My cup runneth over. My heart is full. I am blessed far beyond my deserts. (Desserts? Did someone mention desserts? That could be a whole day of thanks right there…)

Today, the first day of my week of Thanksgiving, I am kicking off the gratitude by giving thanks for my Number One Blessing. Because what I’m most thankful for is also the One I’m thankful to. My biggest, best blessing is that I am a child of God, saved by the blood of Jesus Christ, and heir to an inheritance that will outlast everything else I have in this world. God loves me. He died for me! And now I get to be with Him forever. That pretty much blows all my other blessings out of the water.

So thank you, Father, for the blessing of being a part of your family. I hope my life shows my gratitude.

Happy Thanksgiving!

5 responses »

  1. What a perfect idea for this week. Our pastor’s message mirrored these same thoughts this morning and we went around and said what we were thankful for. ( We have a small church). I am eager to read the rest of your posts this week. JEJ ( my husband) chimed in to tell you he agrees so much with this post.
    Blessings.

  2. Amen!!! The best blessing of all is knowing that no matter what we say or do, we are forgiven and will soon be reunited with the family that went on before us 🙂 I can’t wait for that day!!!

    But, no to digress just a tad…turkey flavored jello?!? Did that fall into the dessert category that year? 🙂

Leave a Reply

