Top 10 Reasons I Love Diet Coke

Standard

Tonight’s topic comes from Lisa in Nashville, Tennessee! Everyone who knows me is used to seeing me with a can (sometimes a keg) of Diet Coke in my hand. What is the appeal? Here, for all the people who have gazed wonderingly at my 52 ounce Extreme Big Gulp full of bubbly brown gold, are the top ten things I love about Diet Coke.

10. That first sip: refreshing, fizzy, with a bit of a zing to it. Ahhhh…

9.  I love to see the look of horror on Paul’s face when I ask him to taste it because I think the waitress brought me regular Coke by mistake.

8. It keeps me awake while driving to the airport at 3 a.m.

7.  Diet Coke is available all over the world, and is pronounced “Diet Coke” in every language.  (By the by, we should consider establishing a universal word for “restroom”, because using the commonly understood signal–legs crossed, hopping up and down–is a little embarrassing.)

6. The Rule of Calorie Conservation and Exchange, which clearly states that drinking a Diet Coke with dinner offsets the triple hot fudge sundae you order for dessert.

5. The bubbles tickle my nose.

4. Goes equally well with foie gras, sushi, or Chicken Bacon Alfredo pizza.

3. You’ve gotta admit, that Mentos and Diet Coke thing is pretty cool.

2. It can dissolve acid corrosion off of a car battery.  Really!

1. What else am I going to drink? Water?

13 responses »

  1. 9. Tim has a look that I’m sure is similar whenever I order Diet Coke (which is not as often as it should be).
    6. The only reason I ever order Diet Coke.
    2. I’m scared to ever find out what it does to my insides.

  2. You had me at “fizzy”….

    I like both Diet Coke and regular Coke. It’s that strong carbonation that brings me back. That’s why I dislike Pepsi so much. Not enough burn!

  3. Diet Coke…. Mmmmm… You’re a girl after my own heart. I totally agree with your list except the one about Paul. I’ve never asked him to taste my drinks. *wink* Ha ha ha!

    Ask him about my Orange Mocha Frappuccino (light) habit sometime though.

  4. You know that I totally agree with the diet coke thing. But I haven’t had one for weeks. This baby apparently doesn’t share my taste for the refreshing beverage. He/she prefers milk and the iciest of water.

  5. That happened to me with both pregnancies, too, Jen! Suddenly Diet Coke didn’t taste good, and the thought of fast food made me want to yark. I craved fresh veggies and authentic Mexican food and milk. Oh, and McFlurries.

  6. You had me until “Diet Coke”. Bleah, can’t stand the stuff! My super duper taste buds fend off sweeteners before the tab is even pulled.

    Now, authentic Mexican food is a must, pregnant or not. 🙂

  7. Personally, cold water is my best friend – I haven’t had a soda of any kind since being a freshman in high school – about 18 years now????? Aaahhh!!! That just made me feel really old!!!! Ok, back to the Diet Coke thing…you’re funny – sad, but funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

