Buckle that Swash, Me Hearty!

Standard

Ahoy, Mateys! This be Dirty Charity Rackham, the comeliest wench on the Seven Seas (I still have most of me own teeth, y’know!), reminding all ye scurvy bilge suckers that today be that most glorious of national holidays, Talk Like a Pirate Day! So belly up to the grog barrel, hoist yer cutlass, an’ get ready to dance the hornpipe! It’s time to weigh anchor for the nearest pirate-y celebration!

My pirate name is:

Dirty Charity Rackham

You’re the pirate everyone else wants to throw in the ocean — not to get rid of you, you understand; just to get rid of the smell. You have the good fortune of having a good name, since Rackham (pronounced RACKem, not rack-ham) is one of the coolest sounding surnames for a pirate. Arr!

Get your own pirate name from piratequiz.com.
part of the fidius.org network

13 responses »

  1. Ahoy! I’m glad there were other pirates sailing the blogosphere because me and my beauties were feeling like we was the only ones.

    I’m off to discover my pirate name!

  2. It be Dirty Mary Flint. If only I had known that it was “Talk Like a Pirate Day” on my twentieth wedding anniversary. It would have added a whole new dimension!

  3. Hey, Happy Anniversary, Marci…errr, I mean, Dirty Mary! It’s not too late–you can still keelhaul John in celebration if you want to…lol!

  4. Okay, first of all I didn’t know that it would SAY that my post was deleted. That makes it look a little scandalous.

    Secondly, I was only trying to clarify my position that all this hype about talking like a pirate is misplaced.
    What we really need is a national Listen to a Pirate Day.
    Poor pirates.

  5. It’s true, Jessi. I bet there are some pirates with some pretty profound ideas out there, but we might never know because we’re too busy shouting “Arrr!” and “Shiver me timbers!” to open the gateway to real communication.

    Thanks for the thoughtfully thought out thoughts. 😉

Leave a Reply

