Adrenaline Rush

Standard

I love rollercoasters. Love them with the mad, passionate intensity of a runaway mine train. Love them like Beauty loves the Beast. Love them more than Superman loves the citizens of Metropolis.

For the true rollercoaster aficionado, Ohio is the place to be, boasting not one, but two of the world’s best amusement parks: Cedar Point and King’s Island.

However, Ohio being a few thousand miles away, our local Silverwood Theme Park was more than sufficient for a sweet, lazy Saturday of rollercoaster fun with my sister this past weekend.

As an employee incentive, Amber’s company offered her and her coworkers each two Silverwood tickets, and, knowing my fondness for screaming and waving my hands in the air, she asked me to accompany her. I couldn’t say yes fast enough. It’s been a long time since I indulged my penchant for rollercoaster riding, since Paul and Katie are both decidedly fond of keeping their feet on the ground. I’m still holding out hope for Caleb, though. I spin him around in my arms and hold him upside down by the ankles at every opportunity, hoping to foster the sort of thrill-seeking nature that is absolutely necessary in a good rollercoaster riding partner. Only time will tell if there are Silverwood Season Passes in my future.

As for Amber and I, we rode every big ride at the park several times (avoiding only the terrifying ferris wheel), and racked up an impressive six-ride record on the park’s most popular attraction, Tremors, before collapsing, exhausted, into the car for the trip home.

I’m just really glad I didn’t read about this before we went.

23 responses »

  1. We were out there today for our first coaster rides of the year. My son, decked out in his Timber Terror t-shirt, had to ride those big wooden coasters twice. I spend most of the ride just watching the joy on his face.

  2. Rollercoasters scare the bejeesus out of me. You are a brave woman. I salute you and your cast iron stomach.

    Give me a carousel or merry-go-round instead.

  3. I tried roller coasters. I can cope with the smaller, quick ones, but it’s not something I would choose. Luckily, since my Dad’s heart attack, he no longer tries to cajole the nearest family member into joining him.

    Suffice it to say, I have been to Cedar Point and did NOT do it justice the way you would have!!

  4. I love love love roller coasters! I went to Silverwood in HS and rode Timber Tremors SOOO many times! I think the only other ride I managed to get on was the whitewater rafting one. SOOOOO much fun!

    Oh, and I’m glad the ferris wheel scares you, too – people always think i’m strange … loving the thrill of the RC yet being afraid of the slow moving FW

    hmmm

    anyhow, i’m glad you had fun!

  5. I am so with you (and you too Jessica)! I LOVE rollercoasters and fast spinny-type rides, but FEAR and LOATHE the ferris wheel. People really don’t get the whole ‘being afraid of ferris wheels’ thing, do they?

    (Love the blog, by the way. I’ve been a reader for ages, but haven’t commented before.)

  6. Really, I like ferris wheels & roller coasters that don’t just go straight down. Of course, truth be told, I have not been on a roller coaster in a long, long time.

  7. Wow, I had no idea you loved roller coasters! Do you remember I’m from Ohio? Not a summer passed that we didn’t go to Kings Island, sometimes more than once, and I have been to Cedar Point a few times too. Great Rides and Coasters! I have to convince myself I can do it the first time around and then I love it too. We were just in Ohio the past week and a half, but Kerensa is too little for amusement park visits yet. : )

  8. Woo-hoo!! Always glad to see my hometown of Hot Springs getting some good publicity! We even made David Letterman’s Top Ten List this week.

  9. I can handle the Ferris wheel fine. But rollercoasters get kind of scary to me. The metal ones aren’t so bad. But the rickety wooden ones? EEEEEKKK!

    And I’d have been horrified if I’d been on that rollercoaster in Arkansas. I’d have probably died from a heart attack. Maybe even before the coaster froze.

  10. Arrty and I both like roller coasters, but we scared Josh last summer on Tremors and I think it will be a long while before we get him back on. Adam on the other hand loved every minute of it and also went on Timber Terror with Arrty.

  11. Oh! I want to go to Cedar Point SOOOO BAD! I’m a total roller coaster junkie. Although there is one ride at Magic Mountain (in LA) that I don’t think I’ll ever go on again – it’s called the X – and the entire time I was on it all I could do was scream “Why???” It was horrifying.

  12. Welcome, Neater! It’s always nice when reading turns to commenting (and thanks for the compliment!)

    It’s official. If I ever get to meet any of my “blog friends” in real life, we’ll have to rendezvous at Cedar Point!

    Courtney–Thanks for the warning! I’ll put that ride in my “to be avoided” list…lol!

    Oh! And that reminds me of my rollercoaster pet peeve: coasters that have those big pullover harnesses that rise up on both sides of your head and beat you about the ears every time the coaster switches directions, so that you have a headache and twin earaches by the time you exit the ride. No, thanks!

  13. So this has nothing to do with rollercoasters but a comment you left on my blog wanting to know what the secret was….
    It wasn’t anything too major – just a co-worker was getting sacked.

  14. You are a much braver soul than me. Of course I haven’t tried these roller coasters at Silverwood. It would take a lot of coaxing I am afraid!

  15. I used to love roller coasters, but after a trip to Vegas and a ride on the New York New York….I have been officially “cured” of my desire to ever ride them. We are headed to Disneyland next month, though, and I am sure I will have to brave at least one with my son. I read the article about the coaster in Arkansas..YIKES!!

  16. I’m a lurker, but I’ll come out from hiding now.

    I grew up going to King’s Island and I think it’s ROCK STAR AWESOME that you mentioned it!!

  17. I’m here, I’m here! I’ve just been really busy–I’m teaching a women’s class at church and enjoying the summer days and I haven’t been getting online as much. Thanks for checking on me! 😀

Leave a Reply

