Who Needs Nun-chucks?

Standard

After her bath today, I was carefully combing the tangles out of Katie’s wet hair, a lengthy and delicate ordeal that usually leaves both of us frustrated. Fortunately, Katie recently asked to get her long hair cut short, a proposal I readily agreed to. We’re going to make an appointment as soon as possible.

“You know,” I mused, in the middle of a particularly impenetrable snarl, “when your hair is short, it will so much easier to comb. And you’ll be able to wash it by yourself, too. Short hair is a lot easier to take care of.”

“Is there anything else that’s good about short hair?” Katie asked.

“Sure! In the summer, it’s a lot cooler, especially when it’s off your neck, like yours will be.”

Always my measured and logical thinker, Katie asked, “Then what are the good things about having long hair?”

“Well,” I said, considering, “you can fix it in lots of different ways, like in ponytails and pigtails, or in a bun on top of your head. So short hair is easier to care for, but you can do more styles with long hair.”

She thought about that for a moment before adding, “Oh, and also, you could make your hair into a long braid to smack anybody who provokes you, right?”

That’s it. No more kung fu movies before the kids go to bed.

11 responses »

  1. I knew that there was something I missed about long hair! 🙂

    One thing I don’t miss is little boys lifting my long braid like a horses tail and making farting noises. I hated that. They thought it was hilarious.

  2. That’s one of two amuzing little ones you have there!

    After having been a frequent reader for a while, I just now noticed that I haven’t had you as a link on my site.

    THAT has been fixed!

  3. hehehe!!! I love it!

    Also, the fact that she used to word “provoke” as opposed to “bug” … impressive!

    And Jen? I’m sorry, but that’s just really really funny! Ah, boys!

  4. Hi again,

    Thanks for your message!

    All taken care of. Believe me, I appreciate any security measures I can take in my lin eof work so I completely understand!

    Have a great week!

  5. That was absolutely hilarious – I laughed out loud at that one! Katie has such an awesome wit about her, even when she’s not trying to be funny 🙂

    Sorry Jen, but I’m with the gang on this one – farting noises? Way too funny 🙂 That never happened to me and I always had ponytails & braids. I guess that would sort of scar you as a child…but as an adult, it’s truly funny!

  6. Have you tried using conditioner on her hair? That always helps my girls, and they have super-long hair! Also, I really like those spray in detanglers.

    My oldest decided about a year ago to cut her beautiful long hair. I cried. But, she did look absolutely gorgeous once it was done. So chic and fresh.

    Oh, and Walmart’s salons are VERY reasonably priced, no appt. necessary.

  7. fart = funny according to my husband

    Great word, Katie! Provoke.

    Bella may be 12 before her hair grows long enough for a braid. I may cry if she asks for short hair at that point!

Leave a Reply

