Meme

Standard

Thanks to friends Sarah and Sandra Eileen, I’ve been tagged twice for this latest meme, which I’ll get to in a moment. First, I wanted to take a look at the word “meme”, which I (wrongly) assumed, from context, was pronounced “me-me” (as in “Look at ME! Let’s talk about ME! Here’s something you didn’t know and will probably be thrilled to discover about ME!)

In point of fact, according to Dictionary.com, “meme” rhymes with “theme”, and is defined as “a unit of cultural information, such as a cultural practice or idea, that is transmitted verbally or by repeated action from one mind to another, in much the same way biological information is transmitted through genes.”

Strangely, I feel much better knowing that I am passing along “units of cultural information”, and not just talking about myself again.

Now that we all know what an important cultural phenomenon we are participating in, here is the meme:

7 Random Facts/Habits About Me

1. I always used to return my shopping cart to the store when I was done with it until I heard about a lady whose kids were snatched from her car while she was returning her shopping cart. Now, if I have my kids with me, I just park the cart in the corner of the parking space and drive away. I still feel guilty, though.

2. I have been spelunking, rappelling, rafting, and rock climbing. For my birthday one year, my parents paid for me to take a glider ride. I love rollercoasters with a mad passion. But I’m scared of the ferris wheel.

3. I’m also freaked out by that grinning King with the big plastic head in the Burger King commercials.

4. I wore a strapless dress with a bubble skirt to my senior prom, and danced so much that I had blisters on my feet when I got home. It was a fun night, but the boy I liked (and never told) went with someone else. A few weeks later, he kissed me on the porch at the end of a perfect first date and we were inseparable for that whole golden summer. It ended, as golden summers do, but he gave me the first glimpse of what love might look like, so that when I met Paul, years later, I recognized it right away.

5. I’ve lost 20 pounds since January 1st, and I have ten more to go. I suspect that the last ten will not go quietly. After all, they’ve had a lot of time to stake out their territory (namely my belly and upper arms.)

6. Even after growing up in the South, I don’t have a Southern accent. I wish I did.

7.. I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my life, but I wouldn’t go back and change anything. I like looking back at the jagged, winding road that led me here and seeing the prints of God’s patience and providence all over it.

There, now. If that isn’t random, I don’t know what is. If you would like to take part in this meaningful sociological occurrence, consider yourself tagged!

17 responses »

  1. oh what fun, and what a great glimpse into Katrina!! I love #4 and the perspective you have on it now. That is awesome. Congrats on #5. I think I know where those 20 pounds went…

  2. re: #6

    Maeta is willing to be your voice/accent coach for a nominal fee. Since I am her agent, please contact me for all session scheduling. Thanks y’all!

  3. From the south – I am in the southern midatlantic but am from the midwest, and am told all the time that I sound like a Yankee – how did you get away without an accent?

    I have to tell you Katrina, it is always a delight to read your posts and I am so very glad that I happened upon your blog.

    Thank you for visiting mine to acknowledge my tag you are a good sport, considering I am a total stranger.

    Be Well,

    Sandra Eileen

    http://www.artisan-jewelry.blogspot.com/

  4. Gliders are fun. There is a club that flies out of Deer Park. I went up last year. It is hard to look at the sky the same again.

  5. Oh wow– I don’t particularly enjoy heights, so no gliding for me.

    20lbs. you are amazing. Good job!

  6. Wow! 20 pounds! I’m so proud of you. And, yes, the last 10 will not go quietly into that dark night, at least over in my world it won’t. Then again, if I could just get past my love of our local mexican restaurant…

  7. Congrats on your focus on health and losing 20 pounds. I understand about the shopping cart thing. Maybe I will volunteer to take them back for women that I see with their children.

  8. “mΓͺme” in French means “same” and rhymes with “gem.” I’m stuck on that pronunciation. But the “same” meaning kinda fits, too…

    #1 – yikes! Most shopping carts here have little coin-operated locks, so if you want your quarter back – sometimes it’s a loonie! (dollar) – you have to return them. Of course, that’s a small price to pay for not having your kids kidnapped! That’s awful!

    #3 – ME TOO! F-r-e-a-k-y!

    #4 – Each time, I get closer to recognizing the real thing. πŸ™‚ I love how you put this.

    #7 – happy sigh. Yep!

  9. Great post! Very enlightening.

    Totally understand #1. Now that I have two kids, I get obsessive about putting them in the car, getting a death grip on the keys as I lock the door and run as if the devil were chasing me to put the cart up. Your idea is way better.

    #4 is a lovely way to remember first love

    #5 WOOHOO! Way to go! I’m working on 15lbs more and they cling to me like barnacles on the bottom of my boat.

    Amen to #7

  10. What a fun post to read. I, too, am deathly afraid of ferris wheels. I may try coming up with my own list!

  11. How DID you get away without a Southern accent?? I remember you not having one…but even I have some “twang” once in a while and I only spent three years in the South.

    Congrats on the 20 lb loss!

    I also have made many mistakes…but it is true that they have made me who I am today and it Is neat to see God’s hand in our lives and how He brings us back to Him.

  12. I loved #3 – the ferris wheel phobia. Michael is scared to death of them too, but will gladly hop on the biggest roller coaster for a quick scare…makes absolutely no sense to me. Personally, I’ll ride the ferris wheel all day if it will keep me away from a roller coaster. How do you feel about carousels? Michael can’t ride them either πŸ™‚ His problem is that he can’t do circles…

    As for #5 – the weight loss. Congrats! I’d love to know how you’ve managed it? I spend my days running around like a chicken with head cut-off, and only nibbling small portions of food, but have still managed to only maintain my current weight. It’s so frustrating!!!

    And finally #6 – the accent. I have lived in Texas all of my life, but almost all of my friends over the years have been from the North. So, I tend to speak Yankee instead of Southern πŸ™‚ Very rarely will you hear a hint of the South from me. But, don’t get me started with my youngest sister and my daughter…they are 2 Southern peas in a pod!

  13. What a great list! It’s responses like these to memes that always make me feel like mine are so trivial and blech.

    I totally agree with you on #6, though. I may even have started out with a Southern accent, but kids in school would laugh if we used the word “ya’ll” or “fixin’ to” or if a Southern accent slipped out. I may have trained myself to lose it.

    Now, though, I embrace the ya’ll, and every time someone tells me I said something with a bit of an accent, it makes me smile. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

