Conversations With Caleb

Standard

On the way home from taking Katie to school, Caleb and I stopped at the Walgreen’s pharmacy drive-thru to pick up a prescription.
Caleb (yelling out the open window at the pharmacist behind the glass): I’d like some money, please!
Me: Shhhh … this isn’t the bank, sweetie. It’s the drugstore. They don’t have money here.
Caleb: Yes, that man inside the window do have some money.
Me: Well, he has some in his cash register, I guess, but he doesn’t give it away.
Caleb (disregarding my clearly erroneous information, resumes calling to the pharmacist): Hey! I need some ten dollars, please!
Me: What do you need ten dollars for?
Caleb: I need to buy a penguin.
(He later informed me that the penguin’s name would be Grayson and that they would be Best Friends Forever.)

***

This morning, while I was helping him get dressed for the day, Caleb made an observation.
Caleb: Mom, what is that fing on your tummy?
Me (looking down and pointing at the tie on my pajamas): You mean this?
Caleb (poking me painfully in the chest): No, that fing!
Me (trying to remain matter-of-fact): Those are breasts, honey. Grown up girls have them.
Caleb: Breff?
Me: No, breasts. There are two of them, and they’re private, so it’s not nice to poke them. Okay?
Caleb (laughing): There’s not two of them; there’s five!
Me (Finally losing the fight against laughter, and wondering just where four year olds get their information): Whatever you say … just leave them alone, okay?
Caleb: Okay.
(Sometimes ending the conversation while you still have your dignity is more important than strict factual accuracy, you understand. And just for the record, they’re not actually all the way down to my tummy yet.)

***

This afternoon, Caleb and I had lunch together at Carl’s Jr., where the talk covered everything from rockets to Grayson the Penguin. Good will abounded.
Caleb (grinning and holding up his cup of Orange Fanta): Cheers, Mom!
Me (“clinking” my plastic cup against Caleb’s paper one): Cheers! What should we toast to?
Caleb (laughing at Mom yet again): It’s not toast, silly! It’s orange juice!

***
Will somebody please hand me a copy of the script? I didn’t get one.
11 responses »

  1. Caleb is quite a character. I have really enjoyed having him in our Wednesday night Bible class. He makes me laugh every week. And he was so cute the time he led a spontaneous prayer brought on by the fact that God made giraffes. 🙂

  2. I want a penguin too…but something tells me they cost more than $10 and that once the guin saw that he’d have to live in my garret (which is not in Antartica) he’d scram. Which would mean I wouldn’t have a best friend, a penguin, and I’d be out a lot of cash.

    Scripts? You can get scripts?

  3. I wonder if Grayson likes toast and if he might have five breffs. It might be interesting to know.

    I just love the perspective that kids bring to the conversation. It’s so adorable!!

  4. That is great! A daily unending portion of Four Year Old. I have some pretty sweet four-year old girls that Caleb might like here in Kentucky 😉 As long as he doesn’t poke them in the breffs…lol

  5. Hilarious! How fun. I’m sure you’ll both be glad you’ve recorded these things in a few years.

    What a funny kiddo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

