Spring

Standard

Spring has sprung upon North Idaho at last.

The evidence was all around me today while Caleb and I celebrated the sweet turn of the weather with a nice, long walk. I did the actual walking. Caleb rode along in the purple jogger stroller; this is the last year he’ll be able to fit into it without his long legs dragging on the ground, and the last year I’ll be able to turn up my iPod and escape into the streets around our home to walk and think and walk and think, until I look around and realize I don’t know where I am.

Today, while my feet were busy, I had the best conversation with God. He explained a few things I’ve been wondering about, and listened while I rambled on about this and that. He felt so close today, and that is a gift when it happens.

Today the breeze lifted my hair off of my neck, an absolutely delicious sensation, if a little forward. It filled up the canopy on the stroller like a sail, and carried the last of the winter grit down the streets before it.

Today I saw ants scurrying around underfoot, someone’s garden greens peering up through the freshly turned soil, and the sun. The sun! I’ve missed it, and today I could absolutely smell it warming the earth, and me.

Today may not have been the official first day of Spring, but it was mine.

11 responses »

  1. Yes, for those of us fortunate enough to be outside today, what a special gift God gave us to enjoy this spring like day. I felt so blessed. Sounds as if you did, too!

  2. We are close to that feeling over here on the opposite side of the nation. We’re close. With all the snow on the ground, it’s hard to convince ourselves that Spring is near, but this morning, when I took puppy out, I didn’t need my scarf and gloves and the damp earthy smell in the air delighted my nose.

    Very well said, and very well enjoyed!

  3. I can remember the last muddy days of winter that stretched on and on, living in the north. We are almost to the “oh no – here comes summer again” phase here in SC! The azalea’s are on fire and the trees just dropped their blooms during the rain last week. It has already hit 80 degrees a few times! Do you miss the south? In ID, is “everybody a somebody”?

  4. Spring has been in Texas for at least a few weeks now, and I’m totally loving it! I love being outside – at this time of year. I’m not an outdoorsy girl by nature, but when the weather is in the 70’s with a mild breeze and sunshine, one can’t help but be at least slightly outdoorsy 🙂 I took the kids to the park nearby for playtime yesterday, then after dropping Morgann at preschool this morning, headed back to the same park for a brisk walk with Ian in the stroller. We both enjoyed the cool breeze and warm sunshine.

    Do you guys have pollen? Do you even know what pollen looks like when it’s caked on every single vehicle (and every other thing) in sight? I’ll have to blog about my hatred of pollen 🙂 It’s an allergy killer, that’s for sure!!!

  5. Hi Katrina,

    This is James…Cantre’s younger brother.

    Thought I’d pop in and read more of your electronic novel. I say that because you could take each entry (as is) and bind them all into a modern day version of Garrison Keeler’s Lake Wobegone, Prairie Home Companion, or any other ‘feel good’ book. Your posts are always good reading!

    Anyway, I’m a meteorologist in Ohio now so I thought I’d let you know that Spring officially begins here on the east coast at 8:07 tonight. But between you, me and the oak tree, it unofficially started March 1st. 😉

    Thanks for letting me stop by and read your notes on a napkin!

  6. I felt spring also today. I spotted my first crocus, I wore sunglasses driving home ( while listening to Carole King (: ) , and the dogs got mud all over my pants when I arrived home. Yes.. it is spring!

Leave a Reply

