Whirling Dervish

Standard

Well, you missed it.

I sat down at my computer with every intention of posting an adorable short video of Caleb’s famous* “Caleb Dance.” I recorded it tonight with our digital camera’s video function.

Feeling supremely confident, I used my Handy Dandy Sandisk USB Image Reader to pull the file off of my flash card and save it on my hard drive. Then I opened the file in QuickTime to watch it.

Oops.

I had recorded it sideways. I take so many vertical pictures, I didn’t even think about orienting my video to play properly on the computer. Mistake number one.

No problem, I thought. This is the information age. There must be a way to correct this. I started boldly clicking menu buttons in my QuickTime player, attempting to find a tutorial for fixing what is surely a common problem.

Bingo! I found it! “Resizing, Flipping, or Rotating a Movie.” Simple procedure. Just one problem: it’s only available on QuickTime Pro, a nifty little program that I can buy right now for the low, low price of $29.99.

A little steep for one blog post.

Then, I realized that even if I bought the software and altered the orientation of the file, I still didn’t know the first thing about inserting a QT video file in a Blogger post, or even whether it’s possible.

So instead, I’ll just describe it to you.

Picture the Tasmanian Devil, from the old Looney Tunes cartoons. Now add jeans, a blue and green long-sleeved t-shirt, and a green and white striped hat.

It looked a lot like this…


…but with moooves.

*at least among friends and family

7 responses »

  1. I concur! Sometimes imagination works just as well! That photo, by the way, is wonderful!

    And I can’t count how many times I’ve done the exact same sideways video thing on my camera. It’s annoying! 🙂

  2. What a cutie 🙂 I love the color-coordinated striped shirt & hat!!! Does his dancing happen to mirror-image that of his mother?

  3. When The Otis and I were getting ready to buy our first home, I made a video to show our parents. Midway through the tour, I somehow turned the camera sideways. I had to tell them the same thing – tip your head. Caleb has some nice moves!

Leave a Reply

