Progress Report

Standard

With nearly two months of the new year behind us, I decided this would be a good time to check in on my New Year’s resolutions to see how I’m doing. Considering that my usual modus operandi is to chuck my resolutions altogether about halfway through January, I’m pretty proud that I even have anything to report.

Resolution 1: to cut Diet Coke consumption in half. I have succeeded in drastically reducing my Diet Coke intake—not a difficult feat, considering that half of my usual 80 ounces is still a nice, round 40 ounces. Of course, even forty ounces of Diet Coke will effectively scour the acid corrosion off of a nine year old car battery, so, you know, I still have some work to do there. Additionally, I have actually been drinking water from time to time. I’m hoping that one day I might even start to like it. I’m told that water is an acquired taste.

Resolution 2: to show consideration for my fellow man at the grocery store by not abusing the express lane. I’m happy to report 100% compliance with this resolution. Not coincidentally, the number of dirty looks I get at the grocery store has decreased by 100% as well (although I still get the quizzical ones as people wonder how I can allow organic soy milk and Cheez Doodles to occupy the same cart.)

Resolution 3: to complete Caleb’s potty training. Wherever you are in the world, you probably heard my wild whoop of joy on the day we said goodbye to Pull-Ups forever and switched Caleb over to full-time big boy underpants. He still has accidents here and there (here is okay, but there is usually twenty miles from home without a spare pair of trousers in sight), but for all practical purposes, I consider him potty trained. And the heavens rejoiced.

Resolution 4: to fold my laundry before it reaches the ceiling. Ummm… Did I mention that Caleb is potty trained now?

Resolution 5: to lose my gym membership card. What gym membership card?

Resolution 6: to blog daily. I think I’ve missed three days since January 1, but I believe that I’ve honored the spirit of this resolution. Contrary to what I feared, daily blogging actually takes the pressure off of the blogger, in a sense. When you blog every day, no one expects you to be brilliant all the time. Reading your blog becomes a little like shopping at a thrift store—you know you’ll have to rifle through a bunch of uninspiring polyester to find something that you like. I’m okay with that.

Resolution 7: to stop overusing parentheses. I discarded this resolution mere days after making it. I’ve come to grips with my overly conversational writing style. Just like Popeye, I yam what I yam.

Super Secret Resolution 8: to lose weight. I didn’t include a weight loss resolution on my original blog entry, partly because everyone resolves to lose weight in the new year, and partly because I didn’t want anyone to know if I horribly crashed and burned. Now I feel good about telling you that I started the South Beach Diet (which is less a diet than a new way of looking at and choosing foods) on New Year’s Day and I have lost 13 pounds so far. The best part: once you get the basic concepts down, you hardly have to think about food at all. I hate counting calories or measuring ounces or recording fat grams, so this eating plan has been perfect for me. On Sunday, I got to wear a skirt that has been hanging in my closet, unworn, for a year. That’s a great reward!

So there you have it. Two months down, ten to go. I suppose I have my blog readers to thank for keeping me on track. Writing your goals down and sharing them with someone does wonders for your motivation. (And if that doesn’t help, there are always M&Ms. After all, they worked for Caleb!)

15 responses »

  1. Wow! Ran across your post and had to comment – that’s great that you made resolutions and are sticking with them. Good for you, I hope it continues into 2007.

    Personally, I use my blog(s) to motivate myself on my resolutions, and to help others with theirs. Stop by sometime, I’m always looking for like-minded folks to share encouraging words…
    Best,
    Kim
    IResolveTo.com

  2. I love your thrift store comments on Resolution 6! Genius! lol

    And congrats on the 13 pounds. Awesome, and way to go for you!

  3. Jeeze Louise.

    You’re making me look bad.

    Okay, you’re making me look WORSE.

    (Water is totally acquired taste material; it made me completely nauseous for the longest time; just this year I have begun drinking it because I want it. Bizarre.)

  4. I made one resolution. I make the same one each year: Write the current year, not the year before, on checks, blog posts, records, or anything else asking for a date.

    So far, so good.

  5. The South Beach Diet huh? I’m all depressed because I started out doing really well with just modifying my eating habits and being careful with what went into my mouth – I lost 4 pounds in 4 weeks. But then something happened – I’m not exactly sure WHAT happened, but it was definitely something – because I’m now right back where I stared, to the .5 of a pound! It’s so frustrating!!!! My problem isn’t finding something that works, it’s sticking with it! I swear that if I had the money to do it, I’d take the easy way out with a little lipo and tiny tuck! If I paid for it, then I’d be more apt to want to keep it in perfect condition, right?!?!

  6. I was reading one of my favorite Bloggs (A Family Runs Through It) and saw your comment and picture. I thought: Hey! I know that face! It’s Katrina! I would love to email you. How can I get your email address? Hope you and Paul are doing well.

    Love,
    Mike Jones

  7. I’m told that water is an acquired taste.

    Bwahahaha! That is so funny that you say that! I said the exact same thing two years ago…now I would actually prefer water over anything else (most days anyway)!

    You know, I’ve been wanting to see what the South Beach Diet was all about. I’ll have to check it out. See, my problem is not that I gain weight during the holidays, I gain in that odd period after Christmas and before bathing suit weather. I guess it’s from eating all that leftover holiday candy? *sigh

  8. Ah, I did South Beach for about 4 months last summer. I lost 16 pounds (a lot at first and then, not so much). I missed my fruits and veggies (I know, you can have some, but not in the beginning much) and decided this year I’m just eating to make myself “healthy and whole”. So far, so good! I’m not stepping on the scale (it is a vile vile thing) but I can tell weight is coming off by how my clothes fit.

    I think the best one on the list is potty training success!! It makes such a difference in your life (and grocery bill!!) Congrats!

    Oh, and I’m still trying to learn to like water, too. So far, I still force it down.

  9. i love the follow up! that is why i never, EVER keep my resolutions. cause i don’t hold myself accountable! kudos (diet kudos?) to YOU!

  10. Congratulation!! I am so proud of you. I do not even remember if I made resolutions this year other than to start walking again– which I did. Yours are much more impressive.

Leave a Reply

