Wake Up Call

Standard

This morning came way too early.

Paul gallantly offered to take the first shower so that I could pillage the Land of Nod for fifteen more blissful minutes. Alas, it was not to be.

Five minutes after the shower started running, a small but not-to-be-denied voice announced from the kids’ room: “Mommmeeeee! I’m awake now!” It was Caleb, and as I swung my reluctant feet to the floor and tried to blink back the light with my heavy eyelids, he came catapulting full-tilt into my arms for his morning hugs.

Little arms and legs wrapped around me for a big squeeze and then he pulled back a little to grin up into my face.

“This is a good day, isn’t it?” he chirped, before running off on his pajamafied feet to see how much playing he could accomplish before breakfast.

Sweet morning child. Keeper of the dawn. How would I know the sun was shining if you didn’t drag it around behind you, dripping its rays all over the place?

And yes.

It most certainly is a good day.

9 responses »

  1. Sweet morning child. Keeper of the dawn. How would I know the sun was shining if you didn’t drag it around behind you, dripping its rays all over the place?

    That paragraph was so beautifully written… Makes me feel like a 1st grader when I read over my own posts.

  2. Do you suppose we were all “keepers of the dawn” at one point in our lives? I know that I’m not anymore, but it makes me happy to think that at one point in my life I might of been dragging the sun around behind me.

    Such a well-written post. Thanks.

  3. I echo the love of that paragraph…Katrina, you have such a way with words. And I can just envision Caleb, even though I’ve never met him…

  4. Sweet morning child. Keeper of the dawn. How would I know the sun was shining if you didn’t drag it around behind you, dripping its rays all over the place?

    Okay, so I copied and pasted the same paragraph as others, but it is so eloquent!! You, Katrina, are hereby decreed to WRITE. I mean, seriously. Like something to publish. Seriously. Look into it. You have such a way with words.

    That said, I have never been a morning person (although now I don’t seem to be a night owl, either) and luckily for me, God gave me a child who is a wonderful morning child, but who understands my need for space and quiet. Ahh, keeper of the dawn…just keep it in your room for a little while longer…

  5. What an incredible way you have of looking at things, Katrina. You didn’t see that as a much too early wake up, you saw the beauty in it instead. Bless you.

Leave a Reply

