Superbowl XLI

Standard

Yesterday was a good day to be a Colt.

It also marked a personal first, for me: yesterday’s game was the first time ever that the team for which I was rooting won the Superbowl. What a relief! I was starting to think I was a jinx.
We had a wonderful time watching the big game and indulging our appetites at the home of our friends, Matt and April. All the major food groups were present: pop, sandwiches, chips, and chocolate (as well as yummy cupcakes frosted to match the team colors.)

I knew it was going to be fun when we walked in and found a pile of construction paper colt and bear ears next to a sign inviting fans to wear a pair in support of their team. The caveat? Wearing the ears signified a social contract requiring fans of the losing team to take the Walk of Shame around the cul-de-sac outside after the game, ears attached.

Our family was only one filly shy of a herd of Colts supporters, and Matt and April, though married, were likewise divided in their loyalties.

In the end, Amber and Matt faced the agony of defeat.

While the rest of us enjoyed a little gloating.

Now that’s what I call a good game.

Unfortunately, not everyone agreed. We walked outside to find that someone had come along during the festivities and vandalized the neighbor’s pickup truck with spray paint.

Bob Swerkski, perhaps?

9 responses »

  1. This is how out of it *I* am… I didn’t even KNOW the superbowl was this weekend! I really have had my head in my marking cave for far too long. Daylight? What’s that?

    Sounds like you guys had fun! 🙂

  2. What a great idea – love the ears!! We were cheering for the Bears, but they aren’t my true favorite team (Patriots) so it was all okay in the end. LM kept coming in the room just to watch the commercials – we were both disappointed in those!

  3. Michael & I DVR’d the game, then fast forwarded thru it just to see the commercials 🙂 We’re not sports fans, so the only reason watched was for the very disappointing half-time show and the commercials – some of which were funny. I think our favorites were the one with KFed (making fun of himself) and the one for Jack in the Box (Vegetarian rather than Veterinarian), followed by the GoDaddy.com commercial (everyone wants to work in Marketing – did you guys notice Kevin from Digg?). Several of the Bud Light commercials made us laugh, but I think some of the worst were from Budweiser. And, don’t get me started with the car commercials!!! Wasn’t that impressed with Prince, though I have to say he was a trooper (granted, getting paid a fortune I’m sure!) to go out and play in the rain!!!

  4. Oh my gosh! I can’t believe they vandalized your friend’s truck! That’s insane!

    I’m glad you guys had fun, though. What a great idea on the ears! I’d have been the only one wearing Colts ears at my party. Clearly, the people I watched the game with just aren’t as smart as me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

