Elves in Disguise

Standard

I’ve discovered the secret to fast, easy Christmas decorating. Lock your door and don’t let your Bible study group leave until they have unpacked and assembled your tree, hung your ornaments, and decked your halls. Then, bribe them with hot brownies to carry the empty boxes back out to the storage shed.

It works beautifully.


Caleb likes the Bungee Jumping Polar Bear ornaments the best. Despite numerous reminders that the tree is a decoration and not a toy, I keep catching him going “boing, boing, boing” while the polar bears’ springs stretch longer and longer.


Katie has put the star on our tree every year since she was two years old.

My mom sewed this tree skirt for us the very first Christmas Paul and I were married. It has patchwork on one side, and angels on the other.

The Merry Christmoose family, the Garden Snowmen, and the Santa Brigade stand guard over the TV, which is perpetually tuned in to ABC Family’s 25 Days of Christmas.


I made these stockings with my own widdle hands (and massive amounts of supervision from my very crafty mother.)


The tree is lit, the garlands are hung, The Husband is at his computer, and all’s right with the world.


Now get shopping! Only twenty five more days left!

11 responses »

  1. Clearly you are a genius to even think of locking the door so that your “elves” have to help you. Do they hire out?

    We have the outside decorated, but the inside is its normal stylish mess! Maybe this weekend we’ll get it together and well– get it together.

  2. I must’ve lost my Christmas spirit. 😦 I loathe and detest the decorating part…

    You’re house is so lovely! I just love your decorating style. Reminds me of when I was a kid.

  3. Hee hee! I have a similar tactic – I throw a gingerbread house decorating party for my friends, but they don’t get the goods will the house is decorated! πŸ™‚

    The bad thing is taking everything down. You don’t even want to KNOW when my decorations finally came down last year.

    (late March)

  4. What about the lights strung all around the living room? Did Paul refuse or did the brownies give out before you got that far? And you really should put something next to the stockings for comparison. Like, say, Caleb for example. It would take massive amounts of supervision only because she needed to feed in the yards of material while you ran the sewing machine. They are the only stockings I’ve ever seen that you just might be able to fit a 4 year old boy into!

  5. I love it!! I have all the decorations out except the tree ones, as those will have to wait a bit. I hate taking the decorations down, that’s the worst. I would pay someone to come do it for me (well, in theory I would, if I had money for that sort of thing). I love all the homemade parts and traditions, that makes it sooo cool!

  6. College students are so easy to bribe. πŸ™‚ When I was in college our resident church hospitality head would have a “Light Up the Sirles” Christmas party to help her decorate and then we got the best food ever afterwards!

    Keep in mind this also works for moving. Our former singles minister hosted a road rally, that ended up at his fiance’s apartment so we could help move boxes to their new place. πŸ™‚

  7. You are one efficient lady, Katrina, and your house looks very cozy as well. I particularly like the image of Paul in sock feet, as it lends a casual/comfortableness to the scene. I’ve always been puzzled by people who wear shoes in their own home.

  8. I’m puzzled, Katrina. You had them help assemble your tree, do you not have trees in Idaho? Smashing decorations! I love the Christmoose family. We might decorate in December. It’ll all stay up until New Year’s Day, at least, maybe longer!

  9. πŸ™‚ Fabulous idea. I don’t have a single Christmas decoration out yet….so maybe I will throw a little “party” of my own! You all look wonderful and happy. Enjoy the season and all it’s merriment.

  10. I’m all over it. We have Candy Canes, Charlie Brown Style Christmas Lights (also called Retro, apparently) on the gate & fence), lighted garland & wreath over the mantel, lit candley things in the bow window, tiny twinkle lights in the andromeda bushes, and a depressing ass bunch of lights painstakingly tacked and hooked up around the porch’s overhang by my bad self …which , betwen the the time they emerged from storage and went up, ceased to work.

    Just shoot me now.

Leave a Reply

