Lessons from Roswell

Standard

When my sister heard I was sick, she rushed right over with espresso fudge truffles (they may not have any healing qualities, but they make me forget how yucky I feel for ten seconds at a time) and Season One of Roswell on DVD. She says that’s what she likes to watch when she’s sick. I think it’s the mental equivalent of comfort food.

It’s also educational.

Here are some things I’ve learned in the first twelve episodes:

1. Alien teenagers are still, first and foremost, teenagers. Apparently, drama, angst, and hormonally induced poor judgement are universal afflictions.

2. If you’re going to use your superpowers to perform miraculous healings, first look around to make sure no crackpot UFO conspiracy nuts are watching. It eliminates the need for tedious explanations and keeps the FBI off your back.

3. The police, believe it or not, really are here to help you.

4. If the school guidance counselor tails you to another state wearing camouflage and carrying a set of lockpicking tools, she’s probably not that interested in your academic future.

5. Don’t drink from any strange bowls of unknown liquid during a Native American sweat lodge ceremony.

6. Every so often, Tom Hanks’ son, Colin, makes a face that looks exactly like his dad. It’s really cool.

7. Like humans, aliens can be good or bad. Of course, some of them are just moody.

8. Alien powers have some very practical applications: reheating coffee, fixing the air conditioning in your car, and changing the color of your lipstick and nail polish to match your outfit, just to name a few.

9. A lot of problems could be avoided if people would only talk to each other. Oh, wait. That’s just crazy.

And finally,

10. Who you are matters a lot more than where you’re from. (I think I heard that one on an ABC After School Special. It’s true, though.)

8 responses »

  1. Oh, I loved Roswell. Never got to see more than the first season, though. I may have to go out and buy it now for just such an occasion as sickness.

  2. #10 – which is a really good thing because it’s time for the Annual Turkey Testical Festival back near my hometown. So.glad.I.moved.

    I never saw this, but I’m going to have to check it out. Didn’t know Tom Hanks had a son who was also an actor… how very interesting.

  3. Thanks to you I’ll never have to watch Roswell because I now know it so well. Hope you’re feeling better by now– and if they ever explain exactly how the aliens change their lipstick and nail polish so easily, please let me know!

  4. Turkey Testicle Festival? Really?

    Have you checked out Heroes? It is my new shameful television addiction… I cannot get enough.

    Feel better!

  5. I haven’t seen roswell since the first few episodes of the first season…i need a sister.

    i second karyn’s choice – Heroes. And it is so NOT shameful πŸ™‚

  6. I liked Roswell too… Firefly was good also. I am trying to get into Heros….. buy my all time and current favorite is Smallville. If you are a Superman fan at all… you’ll love this show.

Leave a Reply

