Chick Trip ’06

Standard

The first rule of Chick Trip is that conversations in the hot tub stay in the hot tub. However, our rustic riverside cabin didn’t come equipped with a Jacuzzi, so we improvised by designating the entire cabin an honorary hot tub, and mysterious and enthralling were the words that passed between the friends within its walls. Sadly, I can’t tell you any of them.

But I can show you pictures.

***

The cabin was everything a cabin should be–woodsy, warm, full of charming secondhand furniture and antique tchotchkes, and equipped with a working DVD player.

The weather outside was frightful, but the toasty central heat was delightful, and we busied ourselves inside watching movies, scrapbooking, eating, doing puzzles, and, of course, talking nonstop.

Kathy swears this was not a pick, but I’ll let you be the judge.

Fuzzy slippers.

A quintet of identical bathroom bags.

One of our many raids on the kitchen. If you look closely, you’ll notice the nearly demolished cheesecake, the turkey rollups, and the cheese danish.

Of course, eventually we did venture out to stretch our legs and take in the local sights.

And though we definitely didn’t go out looking to meet men, this one was a little hard to miss.

I wonder where we’ll end up next year. It’s kinda hard to top a giant lumberjack.

*Check out a fellow Chick’s take on the weekend’s festivities here!

10 responses »

  1. I could go on about the angle of the finger and the natural placement of nostrils, but I won’t. I will simply say it was a SCRATCH, not a PICK! No pick! (I’m guessing that picture is in retaliation for never getting the front seat. You are so passive/aggresive.) One more note on the kitchen picture, you can also see one, lone, warm (so it will be more juicey) orange sitting on the counter. Uneaten. Sad little hopeful thing.

  2. What an extremely cool cabin! Hmm, I’ve always wanted to meet a strong man like that on a Chick Trip..it never seems to happen. 😉

  3. Awesome cabin, glad you had a great weekend together. I’m not jealous, not at all. Okay, a teeny bit. I would love to do that sometime with my own chick friends 🙂

  4. I only saw a re-enactment of the pick/scratch in question, but I’ve spent a lot of time with Kathy and have never seen a pick…so I vote scratch.

  5. I loved the fuzzy slippers. I’ll take a picture of mine and show it in my blog so you can see. It’s so cute.

    Glad you had loads of fun.

  6. Kathy – clearly a scratch!

    This looks so thoroughly fabulous. I’m glad all y’all had fun. Why can’t my crew on the east coast get their shit together so mommy can escape for more than six minutes without everything going to hell?

  7. I know this is probably a weird thing to say, but I bet that cabin smelled so good! With all that wood, it had to be so nice! 🙂

    Glad you had fun!

Leave a Reply

