Africam

Standard

Many thanks to my blog friend, Hillary, for posting this really cool link: Africam.

It’s a 24-hour-a-day live webcam that stays trained on a busy water hole in an African game reserve. Zebras and wildebeests are common visitors, along with a host of smaller animals and birds. When animals are present, the viewfinder pans and zooms to take in all the details. At night, the camera switches to night vision, allowing one to view whatever creeps and flies under the cover of darkness.

Beware. It’s slightly addictive.

I have it on right now, and the bird sounds are making me sleepy.

14 responses »

  1. Oooh! I haven’t seen that for a while. I was hooked a while back. Beware, those birds can get LOUD!

    Have you seen anything cool yet?

  2. Hillary–I’ve seen zebras, wildebeests, and birds and also some kind of small, hoppy animals; tonight there are giraffes!

    So cool.

  3. I’d love to see it, but it isn’t working for me. I have an iMac and often these 24 hour camera sites don’t work with my computer. Phooey.

    It irks me to know that I’m not seeing wildebeests live. 😦

  4. oooh! I watched one of these when it was on an eagle’s nest and you watched the eggs hatch and then the babies…it was so awesome!! I’m going to check this one out. Oh my, I do fear a new addiction coming on!

  5. Another NaBloPoMo’er here. I’m posting a comment daily on someone else’s blog. I love your take on Frost. The Africam link was fascinating, esp. the birdsong. I also went on a Chick Weekend with my friends about a month ago. Crucial to maintaining sanity, don’t you think?

  6. Hello fellow nablopomo-er! The title of your blog caught my eye, very cool! I wish I could watch the Africam, but I’m once again stuck with dial-up. :/

    I am jealous that you live in Coeur D’Alene. My boyfriend and I plan on moving there someday. I was just there on Labor Day weekend, and every summer for about 4 summers before that. It is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

