Avast!

Standard

Arrrrr, matey! Thar be pirates on Lake Coeur d’Alene!

At least that’s what my son, Caleb, thought when he saw this mysterious white vessel parked in shallow waters along the city beach with the Jolly Roger run up its flagpole. “Look, mom! A pirate ship!” he shouted, eyes sparkling and finger pointed at the black flag.

I can’t argue with that. I can, however, wonder exactly what would bring pirates to our pristine North Idaho shores. They’ve been here for several days, and I’ve yet to see any evidence of cannon fire or drunken revelry. No one has even walked the plank. The looting and pillaging around here is sadly restricted, and mainly the bailiwick of tourist traps and local land developers.

There’s only one possible explanation. After months at sea drinking sour grog and eating stale bread, they stopped by to satisfy their craving for a Hudson’s Hamburger.

I can’t blame them. A Hudson’s Hamburger is the perfect nosh after a long day of plundering and spoiling. That’s definitely what I’ll be eating next Tuesday on Talk Like a Pirate Day.

***

7 responses »

  1. That boat (or is it a ship?) was in that same spot a few weeks ago… My son pointed it out but I couldn’t see the flag because I wasn’t wearing my glasses. I kinda thought he was joking. Oops, guess I owe him an apology!

  2. aye matey! Maybe they’re just filming Pirates of the Lakes of Northern Idaho Part YII?! If so, go see if Orlando Bloom is just wandering about looking for a village to pillage…I’d volunteer mine!! Oh, sorry, got distratcted there. Whatever is in that net?

  3. Oooooooooooooh! Thank you for reminding me about Talk Like A Pirate Day! Yarr! Yarr! Oh, look, now you’ve gone and got me all excited. Yarr.

  4. Oh, Amy–the little photo isn’t a net. It’s a zoomed in shot of the Jolly Roger flag. Sorry–it’s a little hard to make out!

    For anyone interested in joining the celebration on Talk Like a Pirate Day, more information and pirate-talking lessons can be found on the official TLAPD website: http://www.talklikeapirate.com

    🙂 Arrrr!

Leave a Reply

