One Year

Standard

I just realized that while I was camping this weekend, my one year blog anniversary came and went. On September 2nd, 2005, I sat down between changing a diaper and disentangling Katie from a nest of clean laundry to compose my thoughts and send them out into the ether. It’s some sort of literary miracle that my blog has lasted this long, considering that I ran out of things to say after two weeks.

So to celebrate, I am reposting this, my very first blog post. I’d say something inspiring about how I’ve changed and grown, but, to be honest, I don’t know much more now than I did then.

***

Friday, September 02, 2005

Did I Just Say That?

Life is full of surprising twists, and never more so than when you share your home with children.

Their capacity to devise new and unique ways to drive you slowly out of your mind is boundless. (Perhaps that’s a resource the Pentagon should look into. There’s not a terrorist alive who wouldn’t crack under the torture of 648 episodes of The Wiggles played back to back.)

Children are also the world’s greatest scientists, and their experiments run to places where I would never have dreamed of putting up a baby gate (a thoroughly useless apparatus, anyway.) Which brings me to….

Sentences I Never Imagined Saying Before I Had Kids:

Don’t glue things to your brother.

Did you get this out of the sink or the toilet?

That’s not Barbie’s hairbrush; it’s for Mommy’s teeth.

Please take that out of the cat.

Smarties are NOT a fruit!

Why do you have on three pairs of underwear?

Where’s the rest of the Q-tip?

You can’t wear paper clothes to school, sweetie.

Let me get this straight…someone else peed your pants?

19 responses »

  1. So, the other night I went to my friend’s for dinner. Her almost 3-year-old answered the door. I talked to him, picked him up and took him in with me. My friend looks as him and tells him that he is supposed to be sleeping. He said, “No, Mama, I just woke up really early.” Ha ha ha

    Happy Anniversary.

  2. That was your FIRST POST!? I remember that post. I read that post!! I still laugh about that post.

    I HAVE OFFICIALLY BEEN READING YOU SINCE THE BEGINNING!! 🙂

    Yay.

  3. Courtney, I think YOU deserve some kind of award for that! Let me think about it–I might be able to whip something up with macaroni and glue…

  4. came across your site via “everyday kay” –great site! it’s always cool to meet a fellow mom, esp. one with the same name as me!

  5. Congratulations on your one year anniversary! And if you are going to start recyling posts, I’ll start recycling comments:

    I notice that almost every sentence ended with a period, indicating that you still had your cool. Except for one, the Smarties comment. To me this indicates an ongoing (and perhaps elevated) discussion. Okay, I’ll take Katie’s side and offer this. If Smarties are not a fruit, then how about a nice package of those fruit snacks?

    ps- how was your camping experience without pillows?

  6. You know, I cannot remember how I came across Notes on a Napkin, but I’m so very glad that I did! And, now you’ve got me thinking. As soon as I type in my secret scrambled letters (lobiguki, which sounds like something that might 2 year old might say!) I’m going to head over to my blog to see when I first posted 😉

    Happy Blog Anniversary! Keep it up…

  7. Happy Blog Anniversary!

    Can’t wait to wait ’til my 1st blog anniversary.

    BTW, glad you explain to your kids that smarties are NOT a fruit. 😀 Hope they don’t think of it as vegetables, especially the green ones.

    Happy blogging!

  8. Happy Blogiversary!! I’m so glad you’re blogging and so glad I found you (however it was that I did). I love this first post of yours!

  9. Thats rad. So funny! Congrats on a year.. Ive certainly enjoyed reading your thoughts.. you inspire me and your faith is a source of comfort and kinship that helps me keep my face upturned.

    Heres to many more posts to come!!

  10. Congrats.

    And here’s what I want to know. In the past year have you found the answer to: Why do you have on three pairs of underwear?

    This seems like an important thing to know! lol.

  11. Hey Katrina~

    I don’t comment very often, but I too have been there since the beginning. Thanks for a wonderful year of smiles, laughs and even a few tears. You are such an inspiration to me. God bless you and your sweet family!

Leave a Reply

