Of Love and Brownies

Standard

In thanks for all the loving support displayed by readers in response to my last post, I have decided to give away the second greatest treasure I have in my possession–the coveted secret of Katrina’s Scrumptious Fudge Brownies.

I rarely cook.* I don’t know the difference between searing and braising. I can’t pronounce the names of half the spices in my cupboard and I have more takeout menus in my kitchen than recipes. So I’m not bragging when I tell you that my brownies are the stuff of legend. Gooey, delectable squares of pure chocolate love that I like to give away to people who make the world a better place (and/or shower me with expensive gifts.)

Now, for the first time ever, I am ready to share the closely guarded secret of my single culinary achievement:

…wait for it…

Walmart Great Value Fudge Brownie Mix.

You heard me.

Mix according to the directions on the box–two eggs, a half cup of oil, a quarter cup of water. If you’re feeling frisky, add some chocolate chips. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Hide the box.

Voila—perfect brownies!

Yes, that’s right. I’m a Great Value Girl. Now you know. Go forth and multiply the goodies.

*Don’t feel sorry for Paul. There are compensations for this particular lack of wifely proficiency.

13 responses »

  1. so, does that means you are not baking some and sending them to me? I have been checking my mailbox every day. 🙂

  2. Your recipe sounds very similar to mine! (I don’t need to tell you that the main difference is that mine does NOT come from WalMart.)

  3. Awesome! lol

    It’s good that K’s Italian and knows how to cook, ’cause I’m totally with you on the cooking thing. But at least I have an excuse right now — it doesn’t make sense to cook for just one person. We’ll see what happens after K and I get married. lol

  4. I love Walmart’s Great Value foods too! They have a brownie mix? Mmmmmmm, I’m gonna have to try this…thanks for letting us know your secret!

  5. I love you!!!! I made some brownies today. My secret is Betty Crocker. I may have to try the GV.

    Have Amber give me a good time to call. She and I need to catch up!

  6. And here we are trying to remove all of the sugary-sweet junk food from our house! Now you’ve done it…gonna have to go to the store to get a brownie mix so that we can eat the entire pan for dinner…err, dessert!

    As for my lack of culinary-ness, I rely heavily on recipes from friends & family to get me through a week of cooking! I’m just not ‘inclined’ that direction…I have being in the kitchen! Thankfully, my MOPS group will be putting together and selling a cookbook this year for a group fundraiser 🙂 I can’t wait for some new recipes…and I’m sure hubby feels the same way 🙂

Leave a Reply

