What Does It All Mean?

Standard

Last night I dreamed of Jay Leno.

I was in the middle of cleaning up a potty training fiasco when the doorbell rang. With a mop in one hand and a plastic bag in the other, I answered it. There he stood, in plaid pants and a leather jacket, sunglasses hanging from the pocket.

He came inside uninvited, explaining that he was an avid reader of my blog and had decided to stop by and say hello. I gave him the “grand” tour of our two bedroom palace. He kept making jokes about how messy it was, and I was getting a little irked, to tell the truth.

He especially wanted to see my infamous laundry room. It was in worse state than usual. I opened the door as far as it would go (about two feet), so Jay could poke his head in. He only nodded, awestruck, with the slightly reverent air of one who has just seen the Jungle Room at Graceland.

We went outside and he let the kids play around on his white Harley. It had Rosie O’Donnell’s signature on the seat. Then he asked if I would take some pictures of us together. I did, of course, holding my arm out to take a close up of our faces. He said he looked forward to reading about his visit on my blog, and away he rode, into the Idaho afternoon.

I remember composing the blog entry in my head while I went inside to download the photos from my flash card.

Then I woke up.

I really wish you could see those pictures. They turned out to be quite good.

10 responses »

  1. Hmmm, sounds like a Nyquil dream to me. πŸ˜‰ Of course, in my dreams the members of Green Day set up photoshoots of me with a monkey, so what do I know?

  2. Well I think the only thing you can do is call Jay, let him know that you’ve misplaced the pics and ask if he could visit again to take some more. I’m sure he’ll understand. And remind him to bring the Harley.

  3. Good point, Jules πŸ™‚

    I’d recommend laying off of The Tonight Show, and getting a bit more sleep! Fiesta must have really thrown you for a loop πŸ™‚ For 2 weeks after our VBS had ended, I sang myself to sleep…”chachachachachachachachacha, chachachacha, Fiesta!”

  4. I love that you were planning a blog post in your mind in your dream. I’ve just started to realize that I dream about blogging. It’s all delightfully surreal.

    [and speaking of surreal, here is my word verification for this comment: ixzzjkgu. is it my imagination or are these verification things getting longer and goofier?]

  5. That is just too funny! And you remember such details! I think you should phone Jay – see if he has a Harley with Rosie’s signature on it!

    P.S. word verification was too long with too many x’s and m’s and I failed. This time they gave me a shorter one, whew!

  6. You know those celeb’s always have someone who researches things for them, you never know. He really could be reading this right now! πŸ™‚

  7. That’s awesome….lol…. recently I dreamed Oprah was Satan and featured snakes on her show. The best celeb sighting in dreams took place a while back, but man o man, was it a doozy – George Clooney, Andy Garcia & Goran Visjnic were all competing for my affection while I was vacationing at Disney World.

    Now come on. Does it GET better than that???

Leave a Reply

