Music to Perspire By

Standard

It’s been two weeks, and I’m still going strong on my brand-new, extra fun dancing (read: flailing, wiggling, kicking, flapping) workout program.

Caleb is my usual dance partner and seems to enjoy it, mostly, although every so often I’ll notice he has stopped dancing and look up to catch an expression on his face that clearly says, “I know I’m only three, but if you ever do that move you just did in front of my friends, I’ll die.”

Fortunately for the world and my kids, my spastic gyrations are rarely seen outside of the confines of my own living room. (Okay, I admit that the bounce in my step gets a little pronounced when “Hey Ya!” by Outkast rotates into play. I’m sorry, but you can’t not move when that song comes on.)

For those of you who might want to take your own groove thing out of storage and dust it off, I thought I’d post a song list of the fun and the funky that’s currently cycling through my dance mix:

1. Hey Ya! Outkast
2. I Like the Way Bodyrockers
3. Starry Eyed Surprise Oakenfold
4. One Girl Revolution (Battle Mix) Superchick
5. The Rockafeller Skank (short edit) Fatboy Slim
6. I’m a Believer Smash Mouth
7. Diverse City TobyMac
8. Tubthumping Chumbawamba
9. The Slam (d Dubb Remix) TobyMac
10. Underdog Audio Adrenaline
11. The Devil is Bad W’s
12. Girlfriend Matthew Sweet
13. Bowling Ball Superchick
14. My Girl’s Ex-Boyfriend Relient K
15. Catch-A-Fire (White Rabbit Mix) TobyMac
16. Ill-M-I TobyMac
17. I Like to Move It (Jen’s O. Radio Edit) Bang Gang
18. Which to Bury, Us or the Hatchet Relient K

So did I miss out on the Best Dance Song Ever? Tell me about it! I’m always looking for new jewels to add to my iTunes library.

*Shake it like a Polaroid picture…*

21 responses »

  1. You need to have an 80s workout as well! Dust off that asymetrical sweatshirt and dance! Songs off the top of my head (with apologies for not knowing official titles or groups):
    -You Spin Me Right Round – Dead or Alive
    -Take On Me – a-ha
    – Take Me I’m Yours – The Squeeze
    -Come on Eileen – Dexie’s Midnight Runners
    -Rock Lobster or Love Shack – B-52s
    -anything by the Go-Gos
    -I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor
    -Mony Mony – Billy Idol
    -It’s Still Rock and Roll to Me – Billy Joel
    -Cruel to be Kind – Nick Lowe
    -Come Dancing – The Kinks
    Just some suggestions. 😉
    -Lisa

  2. I don’t recognize half of the songs you already have on your list!! I’m glad you’re having fun! (Don’t worry, you and Caleb will both find great ways to embarrass each other in the years to come!)

  3. I definitely agree with adding some ’80s music to the mix. The great thing about it, too, is that it’s so goofy that I don’t think you’re even supposed to try to look cool dancing to it!

  4. My favorite dance song? Girls Just Want to Have Fun, by Cyndi Lauper. No matter what cell phone I have, that is my ringtone. That song makes me want to smile and dance.

    Of course, anytime Taylor Hicks sings on AI, I want to get up and dance….Soul Patrol!!

    The greatest visual line in history…”shake it like a Polaroid Picture.”

  5. Lisa’s list up there is just about perfect. Anyone that can name Nick Lowe ( and not Elvis Costello is a hero in my book)

    I have always been partial to the techo tance dance house industrial side of dance muzak.
    I have been Enjoying all of the stuff created by Fischerspooner. For you i suggest something off of Odyssey (sp) NOT # 1. unless you choose Emerge. there might be questionable content for Caleb on the rest of that record.
    Cant go wrong with good ol ABBA, Erasure, Depeche Mode and and all time – Strange love is my fave.
    Im just glad your are dancing.

  6. Jon–And can you believe that Apple hasn’t provided a user interface for uploading music from eight-tracks to iTunes? Pretty short-sighted, if you ask me.

    Melissa–Awesome pick (also the name of one of my husband’s favorite movies, incidentally)–thanks for the recommendation!

    Koyama–You make me laugh.

    Lisa and Brilliant–You’re so right! My list is sadly eighties deficient. Lisa, I love all those songs…I may have to download your list as is and make a new mix. 🙂

    Amy–I have only begun to embarrass my kids. I’m saving my legwarmers and net t-shirt for the day I’m asked to chaperone the eighth grade dance.

    Cuppy–As soon as I read your comment, I started humming “Come on Eileen” and now it’s stuck in my head! You’re lucky–the only song I know with my name in it is one that no one’s ever heard of called “Katrina’s Fair”. (Of course, I have it in my iPod should you ever want to hear it!)

    Rosieboo–Great song! My girlfriends and I always used to start our road trips with that tape–it definitely brings back some fun memories.

  7. harv & nat – I still like Costello, but you have to give props where they are due …. Excellent suggestions with ABBA, Erasure (I can certainly boogie w/ them), and Depeche Mode.

    And one more that little song Caleb might enjoy: Six Months in a Leaky Boat by Split Endz (before those Finn bros were Crowded House and The Wiggles made their own version).

  8. Katrina– I seriously put off commenting because I was going to think of an awesome song that you needed to add to your dance repetoire. Sorry, this is something that I am really bad at. I’ll hear a song and be really excited because I LOVE that song and then I forget it. So, Basically– I’ll be reading through for ideas.

  9. Dude – sorry about the spelling up there.. sheesh!!

    shell- lisa:
    i love them both. listening to a NEW elvis costello song this moment on KEXP.ORG.
    But most people dont know that all those great songs were Nicks! they do sound so much alike…though i think Nick is more cheeky.
    nice chatting with you.

  10. New song stuck in my head: Won’t you take me to…Funky Town? (Thanks, Tongue in Cheek!)

    Kels–I appreciate the effort! I’m also taking notes. We have some true music connoisseurs among us!

  11. If you’re good at ignoring the actually words/message of a song, the BEST song to get moving to would have to be My Sherona!!! The Reality Bites soundtrack is one of my favorite for car-jamming!

  12. I am feeling woefully inadequate looking at your list of songs. I think that I need some major iPod help. Most of the stuff on mine is OLD. And Acapella. Nothing that would really get me up and dancing. heh

Leave a Reply

