Six Weird Things About Me…

Standard

And I’m not just talking about my body. (Bah-dum-BUM!)

I’ve been tagged by John to participate in the highly subjective business of disclosing six little-known, oddball facts about myself. I’m not that interesting (aside from having freckles on my arm in the shape of a well-known star constellation), but here I go anyway:

1. You know I like Diet Coke, but I’ve shied away from sharing the true extent of my addiction. It’s a little embarrassing to admit that I drink, on average, between 70 and 100 ounces of Diet Coke a day (thanks to my beloved refillable 52 oz. Extreme Gulp cup.) I know you’re concerned. Please forward all related articles about brain tumors and scurvy to idonthaveaproblem@yahoo.com.

2. I collect “K”s. As in the letter. I only have one so far, but every collection has to start somewhere, right?

3. I once got a large run in my pantyhose (back when I wore pantyhose) in the middle of a sightseeing day in Paris, France. The only public toilets were pay toilets, and I was very sensibly saving my precious francs for pastries. Needing a private place to shed my torn stockings, I ducked behind the propped-open door of a giant cathedral, hiked up my skirt, and left the sad little pool of nylon lying unexplained on the crimson carpet. I’ve always wondered who found it and what they might have thought.

4. I cry a lot when I read. The Notebook almost killed me.

5. When I got married, I was planning to walk down the aisle barefoot, but my Mom talked me out of it. She has since told me that she wishes she hadn’t.

6. I used to love horror movies. I adored the thrill of sitting in the dark with the lights off and friends all around while I watched the terrifying parts from between my fingers and nervously nibbled popcorn. I’m not sure when it happened, but now I can’t stand scary movies. Maybe it has something to do with Katie growing up and starting to go out into the world. There’s enough thrill in real life.

I could go on, but I’m sure that at some point my weird body would come up again, and I’m just not ready to be that vulnerable with you guys.

19 responses »

  1. I too used to love horror movies. I was raised on them actually, the clasics like the amittiville horrors and pet semetary’s. For the longest time I couldn’t figure out why I was getting attacked by nightmares every night I’d go to bed. As soon as I stopped watching them (along with some serious prayer and spiritual strongholds broken off) they’ve ceased. I will never watch a scary movie again.
    I wore moccosins down the isle, it was the most comfortable thing ever. I highly suggest to everyone who’s thinking of getting married to toss the high heels, and wear something that won’t hurt your feet at the end of the night. Why should the bride be uncomfortable?
    I’ve never been much of a reader, but I read the Yada Yada prayer group a year ago, and I cried at the end. I had no idea that reading could be so emotional. I now understand how people can say, “I liked the book better than the movie”.
    Thanks for sharing, by the way, which constellation is on your arm?

  2. Ha ha! And don’t forget, we are the first generation that the “artificial sweetner” companies get to experiment that stuff on…..are you sure you wanna participate? Just bugging, I know, I saw the e-mail address.
    I absolutely love an ice cold diet coke as well.

  3. I got married in barefeet. My husband’s family thought I was crazy, but I loved it.
    I used to be addicted to Diet Coke, but gave that up. It was a hard addiction to break. I had serious withdrawal.
    Thanks for sharing. Like usual another funny and witty post!

  4. “terrifying parts between my fingers” what parts exactly do you have between your fingers? Now thats weird all right.

    j/k.

  5. Nin–I read that book, too! Great ending. Have you read the Mark of the Lion series by Francine Rivers? My favorite right now. Oh, and it’s Orion.

    Koyama–You’re right; it is a little scary being the subject of such an experiment. I haven’t grown a third arm or anything yet, though, so I guess it would be fair to call me “cautiously optimistic.”

    Jenny–I hope you got some cute pictures of your bare feet at the wedding…I can totally envision the cool scrapbook page that would make.

    Sri–Now that you mention it, there is something odd about that tiny space between my fingers. But that’s not what I meant–line edited for clarity. ๐Ÿ˜›

  6. Umm, take heart in knowing you aren ‘t the only person who has left her stockings in odd public places for purely practical reasons. A few landmarks in Scotland lay claim to a couple of my pairs. Europe must be strewn with them…

    Also – I can’t watch horror movies either. At some point my imagination because just too vivid (either that or I became more aware of my own mortality!)
    Always love reading your blog.
    -Lisa

  7. You crack me up!! Just the other night I was being lectured by my pottery teacher about drinking aspartame (however it’s spelled) and how it causes tumors. I’m sure there are all kinds of things that cause tumors, quite honestly. I’m probably consuming a whole bunch!!

    Barefoot down the aisle sounds wonderful!! Maybe on my second go-round…

    The Notebook is one of my all time favorite books. LOVE it. I cry for most of Sparks’ books, quite honestly. I still have to read Mark of the Lion. I’ll get to it.

    And scary movies have never been my thing. I watched “Saw” with a friend when it came out and was freaked out. Part of me wants to see the sequel but I just don’t know if I can take it (and it’s not even a classic horror film!!)

    Have a great weekend, Katrina!

  8. LOOOVEd Mark of the Lion. I actually have everything that women’s ever written…great lit!

    You know what I heard about aspartame? It turns into formeldahyde in your stomach…ick!

    And I still have nightmares about the girl from “The Ring.” Can’t watch anything remotely horror anymore. UGh.

  9. great blog! BTW I think they are 6 interesting things about ya not weird! OK perhaps the diet coke thing is weird lol…

    thanks for sharing lol… cheers! Kate

  10. # 3 had me laughing out loud ๐Ÿ™‚ Only knowing you through your blog, I can totally see you doing that and then running for dear life so that no one would see it was you…

    I won’t even ‘go there’ on the Diet Coke thing, but I will suggest that you don’t press your luck – if you’re healthy, maybe you should ‘get while the gettin’s good!’ and say farewell to Mr. DC…but that’s just me.

    I wore white heels on my wedding day – had to because my dress was like an inch too long if I wore something more comfortable.

    Finally, I’ve never liked horror or scary movies! I just can’t watch them…ever! I’m a weeny…

  11. Oh my gosh! I used to love diet coke…and now any caffeine after noon has me thrashing around all night for a very unrefreshing night sleep.
    Funny post!

  12. Seriously? No bare feet? I remember that you wanted to do that. I always, I guess, just assumed that you had. Oh, well. . . maybe, someday, you can go to Katie’s wedding in bare feet. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I love me-me posts. Thanks for sharing Katrina. As for me.. .I love scary movies but don’t tend to watch them alone unless its high noon and sunny outside because then I have a hope of forgetting about it before I go to bed.

    Have a great week!

  14. 1. WHY did you have pantyhose in Europe?
    B. The Chevron people are going to ban you from their store if you keep up that rate of consumption.
    And furthermore, I, too, noticed the “scary parts between my fingers” line and thought it odd. Thomas asked what I was laughing at, I read the line to him, and he looked at his fingers and said, “What scary parts? This little thing at the bottom?”

    PS- May I get your friends to compile a “6 Weird Things About Katrina” list for you? You know how I love a good list…

  15. This is a cute post! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m in the same boat, used to be a horror nut but that has changed ๐Ÿ™‚

    I thought your comment about panty hose was hilarious!! People have to pay to use the bathrooms in France? Or did I misunderstand that…They must be really really clean bathrooms, I hope, if ppl have to pay lol!

  16. I, too, cry like a baby when I read… not so much when I watch movies though. Do you know what book gets me worse than ANYthing? Bridge to Terabithia. It’s totally a kids book, but I’ve loved it forever. Ah…..
    Anyway, I also used to LOVE scary movies – it was a wonderful tradition with my youth group when I was younger… but as I get older and older I find myself reaching more for comedies than anything.

    So my verification word is qqzlt…. what a word!

  17. Oh, and I wanted to go barefoot, too – but alas, I also have an anti-naked feet mother…. so instead the entire wedding party wore flip flops! It was wonderful!w

Leave a Reply

