Kinky

Standard

You know, not too long ago in American history, women actually used to leave the house in curlers. You could see them at the grocery store, heads encased in hermetically sealed plastic caps, nodding to their neighbors while they did their shopping, as if enslaving your hair on tightly wound rods of pink and green and then carrying it around town running errands was entirely normal. And I guess it was, then. The last time I saw a set of curlers was at a garage sale. It was sitting forlornly on a card table with a price that had been marked down several times and come to rest at ten cents, with no takers in sight. Maybe if it had still had its plastic cap…

Fortunately, the time of hair-related opression has passed. The sixties galvanized Americans and raised their consciousness, waking them up to the quandary of public curler wearing and motivating them to put their best scientists to work in the name of improved grooming technology. Long live the curling iron!

I’ve had a lifelong love affair with curly hair. Even a terrible encounter in college with a home perm gone awry* did little to dampen my affection for sproingy locks. For a year and a half, while I waited for it to grow out, I was the human equivalent of a poodle. My friends gave my hair its own nickname** and teased me about losing things in it (just because of that one time I couldn’t find my keys!)

Most photo evidence of the crime has been eliminated, but I did manage to dig up these two shots:


Not too pretty, is it? You’d think it would be an effective deterrent against future hair-altering procedures. And yet, just this week, I went under the curling rods again. It took two and a half hours of combing and rolling and reading People magazine while perming solution dripped coldly down my neck, but in the end, my flat-as-a-pancake hair was once more sporting spirals.

I’m happy to report that this time, thanks to those hardworking hair care scientists and my stylist friend, Pat, I don’t look the slightest bit like a poodle.

And I know where my keys are.

*Rule #1: Any lasting cosmetic procedure performed in a dorm room by eighteen year olds should be viewed with extreme skepticism–particularly if the participants are being distracted from the process by a rebroadcast of Top Gun on TBS.

** Simba, the Untamed

20 responses »

  1. I have to say, that second picture is very “jersey”…I can say this lovingly because I live in New Jersey…But you were rockin’ that curly hair!

    You should post a current curls picture!

  2. Newlywife–So posted. πŸ™‚ And your Jersey comment made me laugh. I’m a Georgia girl, but who knows? Maybe my forebears emigrated from New Jersey…”black leath-ah and big hay-uh” could run in the genes!

  3. Hahaha.
    The sad thing is, I don’t think I ever noticed that your hair in college was a perm gone awry. It looked entirely normal to me! And is that Ty Christopher and Stacy Harris I see peeping out around those lovely locks? Hey, is that a “ladies-in-black” photo…? You are kickin’ it old school to reach back that far. You know, before they went and ruined pledge week. πŸ˜‰

  4. Rule #1 : Well, it wasn’t a dorm room, but I still have people ask me “is that a birth mark?”

    I now just answer “yes it is” instead of explaining that it’s a tattoo.

  5. Lisa–Right on all counts! Ty, Stacy, AND ladies-in-black night. A blast from the past, isn’t it? I’ll have to see what other treasures I can dig up…

    Jon–I’m intrigued now! Let’s see a photo of this “birthmark”.

  6. Wow! College hairdos. I had a roommate cut my hair once. She cried for two hours. I thought it was funny. My brother did the same – had his roomates cut his hair. His was so bad one of his professors gave him money and told him to get it fixed. That is now our advice to all our college- bound friends. Don’t let your roommates cut your hair.

  7. The poodle look was actually quite natural looking!! I have curly hair and can’t say that I hate it. Can’t say that I love it either. You are one brave woman to post old pics of college hair days – I wouldn’t be brave enough to bare my hair to the world!! The current do is great on you too. Maybe one day I’ll post with the added bold bonus of pics. One day.

  8. I have to tell you that back in high school and the big-hair days, my bestest friend and I went to Glamour Shots for Sr. Pics. Well, we took several apart, and several together. Hubby still laughs hysterically when he sees our tuxedo pic – he said we have 1 really big hair πŸ™‚ Too bad we don’t have a scanner so you could see it! It’s pretty darn bad!!!

    I am now happy with my board-straight hair, that I can curl at-will πŸ™‚ I’m able to fix or not fix as I see fit and don’t have to worry with having a water bottle handy for the quick fixes – one of the things I hated about permed hair was that I always had to wet it before I could ‘fix’ it.

  9. Meant to ask if the recent picture was a self-photo? My sister is really good at those; they’re always perfect! It just looked like you did a really good job getting yourself in the middle of the frame, so I was wondering – how’d ya do it?!?

  10. Paul–Maybe someday I will blog about the time you put all those sweetgum seedballs in my hair. That was our love’s first true test.

    Debbi–Good advice! Mine has always been “Just because you CAN eat ice cream for every meal doesn’t mean you SHOULD.” (I was a little healthier; I alternated between ice cream and corn flakes.)

    Koyama–Throw caution to the wind! Let’s see those pictures!

    Jennifer–I love your Glamour Shots story; I always wanted to get those done when I was younger (but now I think it would just be depressing to know that I don’t really look like that!) Yes, the recent photo I took myself yesterday with my digital camera; I just held it out and snapped. But I wasn’t in the center–I cropped it with my photo editing program. πŸ™‚

    Sri–What a sweet thing to say! You can find more like me in Georgia (I think they’ve just released the newer models–even better!)

    Newlywife–Thank you! (I am loving reading your blog, by the way! Those first few years of marriage provide tons of material!)

  11. Beautiful as always! Did you mention the pink hair yet? Am I having a brain cloud moment? heh

    Loved seeing the pictures of Ty and Stacy up there as well. I wonder whatever happened to Ty? I should be ashamed for not looking up Stacy since we live in the same place!

    Loves shoes!

  12. Forgot to mention, I LOVE Top Gun πŸ™‚ The memories of a summer in Michigan at Ballet Camp, by myself, for 3 weeks with the Royal Danish Ballet, and all of my new big brothers & sisters – I was the youngest at 14. That was my very first Tom Cruise experience…

Leave a Reply

