February 1st

Standard

I can’t help making New Year’s resolutions. There’s just something so compelling about that sense of starting over. As Anne Shirley (with an “e”) says, “Tomorrow is always fresh, with no mistakes in it.” I feel like a newly-minted penny, and, for a few weeks, at least, I’m pretty shiny.

My problem is endurance. A year is a long time. My New Year’s resolutions usually make it about three weeks before gasping their collective last breath on the battlefield between good intentions and Breyers Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream.

So this year I’ve decided to make New Month‘s resolutions. With February 1 fast approaching, I can be a bright new penny again. For three weeks, I will eat right, exercise, read my Bible, get more sleep, catch up on my correspondence, take more chances, watch less TV, give generously, entertain company, spend more time with my family, and do volunteer work for a good cause before my motivation flags and I collapse in an exhausted heap. And after just one week of discouragement, decadent dessert-shoveling, and idle self-indulgence, I can do it all over again on the first of the next month!

Stop rolling your eyes! It might work.

Just keep the Breyers away from me. I’m not Superman, you know.

10 responses »

  1. I love the thought!! Great idea!

    (I’m still working on the year thing, I’m afraid of the damage I could do to my diet if I gave myself a week of indulgence!)

    -Amy

  2. Sounds like a great plan…if it works, let us know and maybe I’ll implement it too…course, I didn’t even really make any new years resolutions.

    And I even spell my name right. Sheesh.

  3. Wow! You’re ambitious. I started reading and thought, “I should make a New Month’s Resolution, too.” But then I saw that you have made enough for all of us. Let us know how that turns out. And I’ll take care of the Breyers for ya. 🙂

  4. Oh what a brilliant woman you are – truly! I’d have never thought of that. I just kill myself (along with the rest of woman-kind) trying to keep with the good intentions I always voice on January 1st. I’m thinking baby-steps are a good way to get to my 20 pound weight loss I’m striving for 🙂

    And, love the knod to Anne of Green Gables 🙂 I loved those books as a teenager – now I’m going to have to pull them out and read them again!

  5. I just ate most of the pizza I just blogged about. But, off to the gym I go. And hey! You should read my blog from a few days ago!!! (Or was that just yesterday) I completely agree! Not enough stamina for a year or a month, I chose a new WEEK’s resolution!!! Great minds….

Leave a Reply

