Blog Lament

Standard

I was all set to write a tremendously informative post about the perils of home bikini waxing tonight.

But I remembered, at the last moment, that in my excitement about taking my first tentative steps into blogdom, I informed a rather large number of people in my life about my blog–including my brother, my father, my preacher, and a few other folks that might not appreciate being subjected, without warning, to vivid descriptions of my personal hair removal misadventures.

This brings me to another problem. Some of the aforementioned large number of people are quite interesting and colorful, the perfect subjects for hyperbole-filled posts poking gentle fun at their foibles. It occurs to me now, however, that those posts are likely to be a little stilted in the execution, due to my dawning awareness of the very slight chance that these people might not want their foibles poked.

So, you see, I’ve sort of blogged myself into a corner.

What to do, what to do….

I could, of course, just adopt the slash-and-burn philosophy, writing about what and who I will, and the devil take the hindermost (do people still say that?) It does have a certain delicious rebelliousness to it that was mostly missing from my teenage years.

Or, for the sake of my loved ones–as well as the ones that I just don’t want mad at me–I could perhaps post a little warning at the top of entries that may contain subject matter unsuitable for consumption by youth ministers, former Brownie leaders, and anyone who once changed my diapers.

As for those with the sensitive foibles, I’ll simply change their names. That way, if anyone confronts me, I can just ask, “Why would you think that was about you?”

4 responses »

  1. Ok, personally, I’d love to hear about your experiences with personal hair removal. I recently read an email about a woman that attempted this very thing, but ended gluing her butt to the bottom of the bathtub which happened to be full of scalding hot water (her attempt to ‘melt the wax’ off). It had me rolling on the floor and crying because I just couldn’t stop laughing!!! I honestly cannot understand someone doing such a thing to themselves, much less paying someone else to do it for them 🙂

    So, please do tell…just add that warning you mentioned to the top of that entry and it will all be fine!

  2. It’s funny you mention that, Jennifer, because it was that very email that got me thinking about this sensitive subject.

    I may still elaborate at some future date, but the main point that I wanted to add was about the inadvisability of attempting a home bikini wax while seven months pregnant.

    Suffice it to say, my new motto is “If you can’t see it, don’t wax it.”

  3. Yes, that ‘being pregnant’ thing can be a pain…quite literally! I never attempted to wax, because I would never do such a thing, but also because shaving that area was perilous enough. Have you ever given thought to the positions and cotortions we pregnant women put ourselves in because of our vanity? I mean, other than our husbands & doctors, who exactly are we attempting to impress?

Leave a Reply

