Pumpkin Pushers

Standard

pumpkin-spice-latte

Fall is my favorite season. Like almost everyone, I love all the fall foofaraw that accompanies the breathtakingly beautiful yearly shutdown of chlorophyll production in the nation’s trees: sweaters and football and school supplies and brisk wind carrying the promise of future snow. I sigh with contentment at hearing the heater cycle on in the middle of the night. I relish kicking my sandals to the back of the closet and digging out my boots, which make a much more satisfying *crunch* on all those windswept piles of desiccated leaves. I look forward all summer to finally snuggling down with my husband into the cottony warmth of our fleece sheets, a toasty pocket of comfort in the chill of autumn night (not to mention the fun of pushing my icy toes up against Paul’s warm legs!)

Fall also brings out the pumpkin pushers. Suddenly, there is pumpkin everywhere. Friends bake fragrant pumpkin bread, pumpkin-themed Pinterest boards are passionately propagated online, pumpkin-scented candles go on sale, and, on October 1st, Dairy Queen once again offers that most delectable of frozen treats, the Pumpkin Pie Blizzard.

I am not complaining.

I love pumpkin stuff. I have had to enforce a strict once-a-week limit on my Pumpkin Pie Blizzard consumption, my Scentsy is diffusing delicious pumpkin-scented happiness through the house around the clock, and I can single-handedly make a loaf of pumpkin bread disappear in less than 24 hours.

But my pumpkin meter is maxed out, people. I don’t have room for another pumpkin-y obsession in my life. That’s why, despite all of the (well-deserved, I’m sure) hype, I have never tasted a Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte.

Even I find it hard to believe. I see the commercials; I wade through the dozens of facebook posts and Instagram pictures, admiring the artistic swirl of whipped cream sprinkled with its magical fairy dust Pumpkin SpiceĀ®. However, given the violent affections of the PSL fans I have encountered, I’m afraid that once I’ve tasted it, I will wake up to find myself pawning off Paul’s Xbox games and heartlessly hiring out my kids as day-laborers to support my habit. Starbucks is expensive, yo.

Have I made the right choice? I really don’t know. And, for now, I’m planning to keep it that way.

Any Pumpkin Spice Zombies out there who want to tell me what I’m missing?

pumpkin

 

6 responses »

  1. I confess, I too have never tasted the pumpkin spice latte. And I’ve been lurking here in the shadows waiting to meet someone else who has not yet succumbed. Because I have a theory I don’t dare voice in front of the devotees. But I can whisper it to you: I don’t think they like pumpkin at all–I think it’s just cinnamon.
    There. I said it. May the pumpkin spice cartel be merciful.

  2. Here’s the deal. I thought the PSL sounded flat out GROSS. I like pumpkin ok, but I have a low-ish threshold for it, and I’ve never even tried the DQ blizzard because it’s a bit borderline in my book. But my dear husband, who is up for anything, ordered me one. I figured (like the previous commenter) that it was just the pumpkin pie spice, and that it would taste something like a chai tea, with all the cinnamon and nutmeg and whatnot they could muster. But here’s my confession: I loved it. AND IT DID TASTE LIKE PUMPKIN. I don’t know how, but it managed to taste like pumpkin and be delicious. I was absolutely surprised. And addicted, which is bad because I’ve made a healthy habit of only ordering plain old coffee at starbucks, which is $2.07 with tax, and a PSL is much much much more. Don’t do it! You’ll like it TOO much!!!

  3. I also have never tried the PSL even though I do really love pumpkin everything. The other day they had free samples and I almost tried it, but for all your same reasons I resisted. :)

Leave a Reply

