Favorite Bible Verse

Standard

YouVersion, the free Bible app I sometimes use on my phone, recently sent me an email that listed the top ten Bible verses most often bookmarked by their users. Here they are:

Philippians 4:6 – Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.

Proverbs 3:5 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding.

Jeremiah 29:11 – For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Romans 12:2 – Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is —his good, pleasing and perfect will.

Philippians 4:13 - I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Philippians 4:7 – And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Proverbs 3:6 - In all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.

Romans 8:28 - And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Matthew 6:33 – But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

I Corinthians 13:4 - Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.

It’s a good collection. There are so many treasures there… promises, comfort, encouragement for the journey. Great verses. Is your favorite there? Mine isn’t. Philippians 4:6 is high on the list, though. As someone who has struggled all my life with fear and anxiety, the assurance that I can cast my cares on the One who made me and loves me offers great strength.

My favorite verse (right now) is Romans 10:23 – Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.

I know a lot about hope. Hope that startles, hope that rises, hope that quietly wraps around you and keeps you holding on for one more day. In my life, I have seen God come through over and over. Sometimes He flies in like Superman and sweeps away the obstacles; other times He simply assures me of His presence–a small, warm light glowing through the dark, just bright enough to illuminate the next step. And then the next. And the next.

And I take those steps. I take them trembling. I take them stumbling. But I take them, because I know they are leading me to the home that was promised. And that He who promised is faithful.

So do you have a favorite Bible verse? What is it? And why?

3 responses »

  1. 2 Timothy 1:7

    For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. (NIV)

    God doesn’t want us to be shy with his gifts, but bold and loving and sensible. (MSG)

    I especially like the Message translation. It reminds me to use the gifts I’ve been given wisely…and to trust that His spirit will help me do so.

  2. Back up a little to Rom 8:28 and there I am. I have seen some pretty dastardly stuff happen around me and I am glad to have this to hold onto. All things. All things?? I ask Him regularly. His answer is always yes.

    • I love that verse, too! It challenges me, but you are absolutely right–God is able to make all things work for good, whether I can see it right now or not!

Leave a Reply

